How to make ALPHABET AND ANIMALS WOOD BLOCK - Join me through the process

in #art8 years ago

I am going to show you how you can make wooden alphabet blocks. 

Sure that everyone knows what alphabet blocks are, but have you ever wondered how to make them? Maybe just me. Anyway, the perfect opportunity came along; I have a baby cousin who I know would enjoy them, but I will have to wait a few more months to give her present. Lots of time, lots of letters in the alphabet. Today I did just three. As I am not native in English, I choose the animals corresponding the letter in my maternal language.

The words are arici(hedgehog) for the letter A, balena(whale) for B and cocos(rouster) for the C letter. A bit confusing for you guys, but just follow the process. I think you will enjoy it.

My supplies were three blocks of wood (5 x 5 x 5 cm), pencil, watercolours, brush, eraser and wood burning tool. 

The first step is to draw the animals and letters on the wood. Make sure not to press the pencil to hard, because it will leave marks. 

 Then I wood burned the pencil design; It some traces of pencil will remain use the eraser. To burn straight lines you can use a ruler.

When you are finished with imprinting the drawings and letters, take your watercolours and brush and start painting; on wood this time. Below you can see some close-ups. 

 

 

Make sure to watch the video(8X speed); it has a cathcy tune.


I hope you enjoyed this process, be sure to follow me if you don't want to miss anything.

If you are an artist we had an art challenge.

https://steemit.com/steemitartchallenge/@anca3drandom/the-winners-steemit-art-challenge-first-edition

#originalcontent

Sort:  

I think you are inspiring me to get a wood burning tool!

:)) That would be a great thing. It wouldn't be so lonely in the #pyrography tag.

Lol, I think it still would be as I wouldn't suddenly become as hugely talented as you!

:)) I still have a long way to go too; thank you for the compliment; With patience it's possible, you'll see.

I am considerably blessed with patience so yes, we will see!!

Great how to! Very simple instructions with a very clear formatting. Thanks :)

Thank you. I'm glad you liked it!

What a nice gift! :)

It's always nice to make it yourself.Thank you!

Super cute! Only a few more to go :D

Que Hermosa ❤️

Gracias. Tengo que aprender más palabras en español.

Another nice post! This would be particularly helpful for parents of young children and preschool teachers. It's more creative way to learn, and at the same time teach kids about art. Definitely more rewarding than buying them off the shelf! Thanks for sharing this, I hope that this reaches the intended audience. I wish my upvote and comment extends the discoverability of this post.

Thank you Jedau! Yes, it gives you a great feeling when you are making them.I will probably make some more. Thank you for your kind words!

These are great. Really lived my blocks like these when I was a tiny kid.

Thank you! I thought it might be a great idea to make them.

These are just adorable, my kids would have loved them when they where little.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59067.30
ETH 2504.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44