Skin on Skin - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago (edited)



It is so Important to feel the touch of another human. From that first time you are put on your mothers chest at birth to the chemistry you feel when you first touch a lover. These physical connection make us who we are.

For those who read my previous post about my sculpture The Kiss, this is another in that series. I really liked the mixture of two people interacting and some sort of abstracted form inbetween. The contrast of human curves and straight edges makes for, what I think is pleasant composition.

This was my second and last time in Gran Canaria to make a sculpture. The beach sand is actually very good there and is home to one of the best sand sculptors around @elportugal (Check out his work on Steemit)



Self Education

I started out this piece as very much an exercise in figure carving which I didn't really have much experience with. I thought that if I carved the muscle structure first on the body then I could just smooth over the surface to give the male figure skin. I actually prefer to carve male bodies because of the more pronounced muscles.

On finishing this first step in my process I really liked the muscly effect and this then inspired the whole sculpture.

I detailed the muscles a bit more and as contrast finished the female figure more smoothly.



You can see from the Women's strange pose I had to use her left arm to support her right as she was stretching through the window. Otherwise the sand would fall. Usually with sand you have to think about supports and not always do you end up with the most comfortable pose. This is sand after-all.



Another Mythical myth

The story for the piece very much developed as I worked.

The story was that there was once a monk hermitting away for many years in a monastery, trying to understand the world from all he could read in books. Somehow there was always something missing. Living in a vacuum had made him slowly weather away. It was only when he finally made contact with the outside world and felt the touch of a woman who he could share himself with that he became whole.

I like to let the meaning of my sculptures slowly evolve while I am working on them. Starting with the idea of A first touch I didn't know where this sculpture would take me. To pre-design a sculpture means that I would have all the creative process out of the way beforehand and then while making it I would feel like a technician or crafts person who just has to make the piece.
This way of working means I get to keep the creative process flowing all the way through and be as surprised at what I come up with as the people who see it for the first time.

I was quite happy with the piece although I did know that my figure carving needed alot more work. Hopefully you will see some improvement as I show you more work from over the years.




clickablesm.gif




Ps

I wish I had more time to be writing more regularly for Steemit but life is very busy at the moment. When I don't have much time I hope my viewers don't mind me showing you small Steepshots of what I am up to in my studio at the moment. They will be little posts just so I can feel more connected and not just a hermit. They also show that I'm still plugging away at something. They may not be of interest to everyone but I hope they will allow my community to grow in new directions.

Thank you for joining me on this journey as I look back on my work as an ephemeral sculptor. There are many more to come in both sand, snow and ice.
Below you will find some of my recent posts.




Dinotourist - sand sculpture




The Kiss - sand sculpture




Cool Carving - Ice Sculpture (Documentary)

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

Sort:  

holy crap! is that really yours!? no words.

theres a contest to join sndbox now which could help support your posts, i hope its not finished. you would win for sure #sndbox

Wow, thank you so much. I checked out the @Sndbox contest. Really sounds like a great opportunity but probably a little late for me at this point. I'll follow along and hope to get another chance in the future. Thank you for the information.

This is just mind blowing work!!

Thank you @beinart . It's an old one but I still like it. Many more coming up.
I am really like your work also and love to see all the art you show us here.

That had to have been a beautiful day making that!! Thank you for sharing beautiful work, wow!!! The most intricate sand castles I have ever seen

Thank you very much. Yes it was a nice piece to work on. A week before Christmas and spending it on the beach in the sunshine.

To someone that can barely manage a sand castle, this is pretty magical O_O

goatsig

Thank you. To be honest I actually struggle with sand castles. I really don't like making straight lines and little windows.

I am so happy that I found you. Awesome work. Following. :)

Thank you so much. Hopefully I will get to post about another sculpture soon.

I am a great fan of your artistic work. I love your Sculpture so much. Awesome.

Thank you @tapanbk ,many more to come.

I will be waiting for them.

You mistyped the tag for bid bots I think.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Ugh wish I had noticed this when it was posted. Gorgeous work!

Thank you. Many more to come. This is a piece from 2001 and I am documenting them year by year.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=skin-on-skin-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24