Iglu-dorf- snow sculpturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

PowderSki.jpg

For the last several years, in the two weeks leading up to Christmas I travel to Davos, high in the Alps to create an Iglu hotel. My job, along with one other sculptor from Holland is to create all of the decorative artwork in this amazing building. I will do another post on how it is to work there but for now just take it that its an wonderful/ hardworking experience.

Iglu-Dorf is one of many such hotel around the Alps recreated every year from Snow and ice. You can check out their website here http://www.iglu-dorf.com

These are some of my works from 2014 where the theme of the hotel was 'The history of Davos' The works on display are not the most artistic but work well for the guests to enjoy while they try to sleep in sub zero temperatures.

There are usually around 14 different rooms to create as well as a bar and restaurant. We have one day to do what we can to make the rooms beautiful and another couple of days working together in the bar.

Davos Suite 2014.jpg

The suite is the best room at the hotel as it comes with an ice bed, a Jacuzzi and it's own private toilet. Here I made two ice skaters above the king sized bed. On the opposite side I made a romantic table and seating area with a rose frozen within ice.

Heartseat.jpg

Many of the rooms had a winter sports theme and it is always fun to play with different lighting effects.

Hockey.jpg

Downhill.jpg

Downhill2.jpg

During the day the hotel is open to the public and they can enjoy Fondu ( I don't!) and a drink at the bar. They are also brought on a guided tour of all the rooms.

bar.jpg

restaurant1.jpg

Restaurant2.jpg

Dues to the limited time we have to create everything the sculptures are not of my highest quality but when they are viewed in the light of just one small bulb per room they give a great effect. Martijn (the other sculptor) and I have very different styles. Where as he has a very straight line quality my work is usually more organic and the contrast I think works really well together.

As I said I will do a more rounded post at a later time showing how the hotel is made and how it is like to live at the top of the world for two weeks without coming down to civilization.


PS.

Thanks for joining me again or if you are new, welcome to my Blog. The comments I get are really great and I am always willing to engage if you have any questions or suggestions on how to make my posts better.

Sort:  

Are you using chisels or dremel style brushes to get the detail? Or maybe something else? Since I live in a desert, I have never sculpted with ice or snow as a medium...

Great question. I work a lot with a chainsaw to get the main form roughed out. Then i use a small sharped camping shovel to round off the edges moving to a collection of chisels and serrated knives to carve in detail. Sometimes i will use a dremel/ die grinder to help with the small details but this is better with ice.

fantastic work - :-)

Thank you, I will do a more rounded post of the project construction soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29