Falling Asleep (Remastered) - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago



What happens when we fall asleep. Having done it at least 16425 times I am no closer to an understanding. I do know that I lose consciousness, but another kind of consciousness takes over. A reality where I am in even less control, with thoughts and actions like I have taken some illicit drug. No wonder people spend nearly a third of their life there.



Dream States

For our second sand sculpture exhibition in the historic courtyard of Dublin castle we chose this as our theme. We wanted a theme which would allow us to make a bit of a narrative as the viewer wandered around the now bigger sculpture.

At the beginning someone falling asleep, the center the magical place they visit and at the end the moment they return to this reality.



Fallen asleep

I was tasked with creating the Falling Asleep part. Having played around with ideas on how to portray movement in sculpture for many years, from doing dynamic poses to actually making mechanical sculptures I had begun experimenting with a new technique in some ways inspired by The Matrix movie and it's Bullet Time camera work. So I decided that that was the way to go.

I would split the action into different frames, like in a movie and carve them intersecting each other. I really had no clue if it would work but what was the worst that could happen? I'd end up with a pile of dust and just say that 'The Sand Man' had paid a visit.

I don't remember why I chose to make the character the way he was. It was probably a nod to the artist René Magritte and his dream like paintings.

I suppose you can see from the photos I've included how all this played out so I won't go into too much detail about the sculpture itself. I will say however that I tried to morph the character as he fell backwards into a deep sleep with his clothes changing and element he was carrying transforming into objects which are more suited to bed time.



A Dublin Castle sand sculpture exhibition Primer

In this post I was going to show how all the Exhibition worked out and give a little bit more detail about how we were able to get the whole project organised and established. I now feel It may not have been what you were looking for in this post and that this sculpture can stand, or lie on it's own. I will make a more full post in the future on each of the projects I helped organise in the castle and have a full rundown of all the pieces created. This will allow for bigger posts and so require a bit more research form me. I feel that each projects deserves it's own post as they were about creating a full viewer experience. It will also be a nice showcase to share outside of Steem.

For now, sweet dreams.



Why Remastered?

When i first joined Steem i was all excited and posted some of my favourite sculpture from over the years. When i settled in a bit I decided to post my work in chronological order and this one now fits into this timeline.
My style of writing has also developed and I have found other information to add to the sculptures stories.
Also some of these deserve a second outing so my new followers can see them and I can add them to my Steemitworldmap
So ever time you see a remastered post this is what I'm on about.


clickablesm.gif




Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Sculpting in nomansland ( contains nudity) - sand sculpture

Dreamtime - sand sculpture

Thorny Vines - ice sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 53.343140 lat -6.267754 long Falling asleep (Remastered)-2003 sand sculpture exhibition d3scr)

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

I actually thought you did something tricky with the camera, not the sand..

Since most of my sculptures end up as a photograph that's understandable. I like to play with the way people see my work and try and confuse them.

One of my favourite sculptures @ammonite

Thank you honey, long before we were shackled together.

Well hello, you just be Mrs. ammonite he was telling me about.

These are fantastic!

Thank you yet again.

You made something trippy with sand. I'd say that's unreal but...[gesticulates madly at photo].

Thanks @rvyivhnn. It is nice to play with visual trippiness in my works. There are still more to come.

Well I appreciate the storyline behind your sculptures. With each one I’m made aware of something.

Sorry I missed this one when you released it. Bravo again @ammonite.

Thanks. Every sculpture has a story and given the time it takes to make one I enjoy being absorbed by the theme and thinking about what it all means and what it means to me.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=falling-asleep-remastered-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #349.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.205 which ranks you at #2797 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 22 places in the last three days (old rank 2819).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #43.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

brilliant surrealist #art work at its most temporary-- the spiral, I have read, represents understanding of the universe and of our respected place in it @angrytwin

Amber_charm6c.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44