Textual Intercourse - short film

in #art7 years ago (edited)


So the Berlin wall is now down for longer than it was up. What a crappy time in history that was for all involved. Families and friends separated by a barrier put in place by idiots. Now of course we have different walls and moronic leaders wanting to build more.

This short movie was made when I was stationed in Berlin as a sand sculpture, long after that wall was thorn down. I worked in the post-nomansland at the East Side Gallery where a section of the wall is left as a reminder of those times.
In the evening after sculpting I would get together with a few of my fellow carvers and we wrote this short tale over a few drinks. Then getting my video camera we shoot this in one evening and one morning.
The editing took ages with each frame where the red rose is shown hand painted on to the video. (I know know there are easier ways) My brother then laid do some music as I hummed some ideas.
I was quite happy with the result and had uploaded it to a website called Stage6.com. (I wonder does anyone else remember it). It received over 250,000 views which for me was amazing. Only wished I could have monetised it.
Well here it is on Dtube


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Sweet film. Love the silent movie style with the texting as the titles. The phones are so dated already, its sort of funny now. The rose is good. Imagine if you'd been able to colour the wall at the end!

I wish I had thought of that idea of bringing colour to the wall at the end. I my do a remastered version some day. Thank you

That was pretty cool and it must have taken ages to colour each frame of the rose by hand. I liked the fact of the colour leeching from the rose at the end as the fledgling romance/friendship died. :)

Thanks, Yes it took ages. I wish I knew Aftereffect (the program i used better back then) a bit better. The comments have got me thinking of redoing the wall some day, but not frame by frame.

Absolutely brilliant! Love it. Story, music, actors, perfect.

Thanks Deirdyweirdy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35