(1002 follower special) Mythical myths - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago



As part of an Irish team of Fergus Mulvany, Niall Magee and myself we were asked to represent our little country at an international sand sculpture competition in Blockus, Denmark. As a theme we were asked to create something based on an Irish myth.

Although Ireland has such a rich heritage of stories how was anyone else to know if we made it up or not. So as we worked we decided on creating our own Mythical myth and make a sculpture based on that.



As I have said in previous posts you always start a sculpture at the top and work down, removing the sand which doesn't look like what you are trying to make.
Begining at the top also gives you an idea of how strong the sand will be and how far you can push your design. For this one we tried a few tests at the top and the sand seemed to be quite good. We were able to make an arch and even separate it at the top. The above image shows the sun coming through the gap. Being confident that the sand and compaction was good we continued to work down, keeping our test on top and working it into the rest of the composition.



We wanted to make a large four way arch and thinking the sand was great began to separate out the four pillars making the arch. It was all plain sailing until we came in the next morning to discover some major cracking around the join of the forms at the top. Should we stop and restart the whole sculpture a bit futher down? Naa! It was probably just settling and having marked the cracks to see if they were still growing we continued working on down.



The different forms were very interesting in the way they connected and part of me feels it was like. 'In for a penny , in for a pound' as we began to push the sand to it's limits. While we worked we chatted about what the whole piece would be about and formulated a story

The tale of Madra Crann

There were two brothers, Phelim and Feltcher who were besotted with the same girl. Phelim in his envy asked the evil Druid Eitleán to trap him brother for all eternity in a prison called the Mardra Crann. So as he could take the hand of Gortaithe in marriage without the competition from his brother. Eitleán granted his wish but with a twist that Feltcher would need to hold the walls of the prison up of they would colapse killing him but also the new loving couple and all the world. His eternal love for Gortaithe and brother would keep him from failing and presented an interesting conundrum.

It was a good laugh to make up the story and even the names were irish words that meant nonsense.



As we continued working down we had to carve Feltcher inside the structure. Niall carved most of the figure with me helping with the body. Making a figure with such limited access was pretty difficult, also knowing that above there was a tonne or so of sand with cracks in it. We began carving him at arms length incase the structure came down but slowly found ourselves getting closer and closer as we got lost in our work only to look up and remember the risk we were taking.



We were able to keep it together till the end and won a prize for our efforts. Fergus had made so weird symbols on the surfaces of the pillars reminiscent of Ogham Stones and everyone loved the Irish legend.



We were really amazed that we were able to complete it especially since the weather for the week was pissing from the heavens. In the early morning of my last day in Blockus I took a walk back to the sculpture for one more look and found that the who thing was raised to the ground. If that sand came down on us as we worked I would probably not be making this post today. But even with the sculpture in its new state the story of Phelim and Felther also found closure.


clickablesm.gif




Ps

Sorry for the lack of posts lately but I have been working on another project which is taking all of my time and energy. Today Storm Emma and the Beast from the East locked eyes over Ireland so I can't be working in my studio. Great time to make a post.
Having been on the steem blockchain since last June I am happy that today I reached a big landmark of 1002 followers. People that thought I was worth following and clicked on some of my posts. Thank you to each and everyone, especially to those who interacted with me in the comments. It means alot to me to get guidance from my followers and to know I am not just typing in the dark.
I've never been that big into social media and my following as been mostly family and friends but here in this new world I feel like I can really speak my voice.
Thank you all.
If you are new to my blog you can check out some of my earlier posts to get an idea if I am someone you want to follow.




Thor and the Midgard Serpent




Buzz Lightyear - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=1002-follower-special-mythical-myths-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Amazing photography, nice job! Keep on posting!
I am new on Steemit so I'd really love to make some friends here! If you want for us to support each other, please show me some love on my account and I will make sure I keep reading your lovely articles! :)

So fucking cool. It mesmerizes me that you are able to do something so amazing with just sand. And to add to that, its a beautiful communication of the fleeting nature of form.

Sorry for late reply. Thank you. I actually call my some little company I have with colleague Niall Magee Fleeting sculpture.

Simply amazing. I always find it hard to believe that its sand. On my bucket list is to see one in the making and an ice one as well.

Thanks Robbie and sorry for late reply. I will hopefully get to make a sculpture in Ireland sometime this year. I will keep you posted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40