Magical Tulips

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My original idea was to sketch and use watercolors to paint pretty pink tulips. As the artwork was progressing I kept feeling it wasn't complete. I started using pencil crayons to fill in the flowers over top of the watercolor. That led me into wanting to create a bold contrast between the flowers and the background, so I picked up acrylic paint and filled it in, mixing colors together and creating a texture pattern. It seemed sort of magical to me, so I then picked up a bottle of gold paint and started adding fairy dust around. It is so interesting to me what came to be, with just going with the flow and my feelings. It reminds me of a tulip in the darkness of the night, surrounded by magic.

20180115_180807.jpg

So many things I wanted to get done today, but the only thing I did was paint. I've been feeling a sense of desire to go back to my inner child, my true pleasures and that which brings me happiness. When I was young the only thing I ever wanted to do was sit around and draw. I feel like as we get older, those simple things we found enjoyment in get pushed to the side and we focus so much on "real life". There is a great sense of peace in just picking up a pencil and drawing, or a paintbrush and mixing colors together and just going with it and seeing what comes. This artwork is completely different than my original vision, but it is what I ended up with and I love it for what it is.

1111.jpg

I had so much fun doing this today, but now it's time for me to go do "real life things" such as make dinner and laundry (uff.. the worst!) I wanted to thank everyone who looks at my post, up votes and comments and also for those who appreciate and encourage me to keep at it on this platform! It's been a blast diving into my passions and getting to share that with you!

❤️

Sort:  

Their beautiful very creative! Followed you :)

Thanks so much :D

your welcome, pretty
@amethystrosee

Enchanting! Thanks so much for sharing. Always wonderful to find other artists here! :)

Thanks! Wow your artwork is so great, following!

I think it's true when people say "I was happy and I didn't know", when it comes to memories related to the childhood. Nice work, by the way :)

It is always so good to release your inner child and feel that joy for the simple things

So I was going to be a doctor, I got real into the adulting world...and then I realized that it was terrible and nothing that I wanted to be... so I went the other way. It was the best decision I ever made.

Beautiful magical artwork btw!

Wow, a doctor!! That's a pretty intense career! I wonder why you decided not to continue that?

Will check this out!

So awesome how the creative process sort of guides us. I love to go with the flow and see where it takes me! Cool mix of techniques on this one, I almost always stick to acrylics

This may sound super random, but earlier today I was showing a friend of mine this site and scrolling through looking at different artists. I clicked on your page and we were looking at your art and talking about how some people are such intense artists on here, and now I logged into my account and saw you commented on my post! Synchronicity! Now I can follow you as i'm logged in :D

Yay! Having a lot of those (synchronicities) on Steemit, like connecting with people I used to see on FB but somehow algorithms have kept us apart lol Loving all the cool creative and positive vibes here :)

When I was a kid, I loved drawing, coloring and tracing. I had big and small sketchbooks and all kinds of coloring books. I even had those 100+ color crayons that came in a case. Art was my favorite class and in High School the only subject that I would consistently get A's.
And yes, "real life" and "real world" began with the rise of the internet and other digital stuff, I've completely abandoned it. Even if I don't draw anymore, I'm always fascinated whenever I see anything drawn by hand.

This magical tulips is an A++. frameable too!

You should continue with your artwork!

Beautiful. If my sister saw this, she'd fall in love with it immediately.

Aww, thank you! That is so nice to hear :D

You're very welcome!

Wow, I love it! I love the background and how it contrasts with the bright tulips! You are soooo talented!

Thanks so much!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93