Light in the Shadows - Episode 1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Light in the Shadows Ep1.jpeg

The Council: "She must Remember. For it is the Greater Forces of the Cosmos that dictate the Fate of Earth. If she chooses to remain asleep, the Cosmos will rule the planet unworthy to carry on. It is her Light that reflects reality and without her awareness it will diminish and we all perish. Find her, Shadow, and rebalance the Scales. They won't remain unaware of our plans and will do all to destroy the Light."

Shadow: "If I must... I hate that place."


About two weeks ago I published a post on here with a hand drawn image. I wanted to draw digitally, but I haven't been able to. I lost access to Manga Studio when my laptop got weird and have been dying ever since. Finally, I was pointed in the right direction of a free software, Krita, wish is a true blessing from the Cosmos!

This piece was drawn today. It has taken me a good 10 hours probably on and off doing a few stretches, etc. Looking at it, I feel accomplished as I added more to it than I was anticipating.

So you don't have to go back and read my old post, I'll explain things here again with some new added material.


This idea is from an old script from high-school. I only found the first few pages digitally which is sad but I remember most of it. This scene is a prequel to what was happening in the script, but I guess it doesn't matter if you haven't read it!

Shadow is a multidimensional being sent to Earth to find, Ky'ra Azure, a Lightbeing who has incarnated in human form. Ky'ra holds a Light that shifts and creates realities. If unattended and blind, she will burn out without the knowledge of who she truly is. Her burnout will result in the Earth's destruction.

Shadow has incarnated on Earth many times before; I wanted them to be androgynous (nonbinary) for this reason; genders are just a human concept. Earth is a place she despises because of the terrible events and emotions that wreak havoc. They think they're beyond humans and are annoyed they've taken so long to Ascend into higher dimensions. They have a stubborn ego, looking down upon others, and still has much to learn from this planet.

Shadow, however, if just another pawn in the matrix. She doesn't understand any more than her experiences tell her and cannot go beyond this space-time dimensions. She has chosen to work with the Council in return for her freedom to traverse beyond this Universe's realms. She desires Freedom whereas Ky'ra Azure shall seek the Truth once awakened.


Multiple friends have told me I should do comics and I never thought I had it in me. I never grew up reading comics or manga; I never was around anime much either when I was younger, but I'm addicted to it nowadays. There is so much to be explored this way!

If you like my work or even if you have some helpful feedback I'd love to hear from you! Thank you greatly for all of the support everyone gives me. I want to share these gifts with you as much as possible!


Here is the original image:

IMG_20180718_191234.jpg

Amethyst Midnight

Sort:  

You are very creative in your art and writing, definitely should be getting more exposure on the platform. keep doing what moves and drives you forward, be congruent to the self and your autonomy, what you nurture will flourish.

Your post was upvoted by the Copes Upvote Initiative. My account was delegated 5000SP for one month by Make a Minnow on the P.A.L Network. This has increased my voting power to more than 10 times what it normally is, with some assistance of my Superfriends over on Helpie the Copes Upvote Initiative was created for a limited time, please check out the programs which made this possible and for your chance to be selected to have 5000SP delegated to you.

Much love in your direction

~ Cope

The entire world is at stake! :)

Haha indeed! Thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43