Tiffany - Maiden feeding flamingos in the court of a Roman house - Art Blog

in #art6 years ago

Tiffany pic - flamingo.jpg

I previously told you that I visited the Morse Museum in Florida and they had an extensive Louis Comfort Tiffany (1848–1933) exhibit. There was one larger window piece (60 x 43 inches) that made me stop. It was so much more than a stained glass window, it was stunning. The title of the work is Maiden feeding flamingos in the court of a Roman house. Here is the picture I took.

The display was lit from behind and the colors popped with richness and depth. The girl’s face had a 3-D quality and showed such focus on her action of feeding the bird. The floor texture was accentuated by the contrasting colors in the geometric shapes versus the gentle lines of the birds. In person, with the lighting, the globe lantern was vibrant color combination with the blue breaking up the other more consistent earth tones.

This is the link to the museum website and to this art piece. http://www.morsemuseum.org/collection-highlights/windows/windows-feeding-the-flamingoes

The picture on the website does not do this art piece justice. It is so much more impressive in the right lighting. If you ever get the chance to go to the Morse Museum, do not hesitate. Go. It is not just a bunch of Tiffany lampshades (even through there are some very pretty lampshades).

Do you have a favorite museum? Let me know.

Sort:  

Flamingos have gotten a bad rep since the invention of plastic lawn flamingos. lol. This is a gorgeous piece and really shows off the Tiffany technique.

The detail is exquisite. I have always loved stained glass since my time in Europe visiting cathedrals.

The color palette is very calming. It's amazing what you can see when you zoom in a little more.

Beautiful picture. Sometimes I visit museums too. I really liked the wax museum. I visited the museum when I was in Denmark.

Hello friend how are you, if I remember your visit to the museum, this image is very beautiful because it has striking colors, this artist kept stuffed flamingos in his studio in New York City means he was an admirer of these birds

How are you friend? I like the Museum of Fine Arts that is in the city of Caracas Venezuela is a museum of plastic arts oldest and the most important of my country

The truth is that it is very bright, that light that illuminates the brightness of the work of art and makes it look with those bright colors, I really do not have favorite museums I have not even gone to one @altportal

I adore Tiffany's stained glass windows. We have a few in Chicago. I believe some of his "recipes" for folding and tinting glass have been lost, which makes his work that much more precious.

That's very interesting. Thanks!

That great collection also includes jewelry, ceramics, artistic glass.
Thanks for posting

You got a 2.45% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @altportal!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33