Introducing myself (part 2) A trip into my strange life and Psychomanteum Art

in #art7 years ago

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your response & all! I kept it short, because I did not want to bore anybody. But, I would like to add a little bit more, if I may?
Please skip this, if it's too much.
My strange life...
Well, I consider life strange in itself. Not just my own.

1d.jpg
ETERNITY- Collage Remix- ALEX ZONDRO ART

But... I would like to explain why and what psychomanteum art means to me. Why I use this expression, and what this has to do with my childhood in Australia.
I was born on All Hallows' Eve, in Germany, I have no baby pictures nor have I ever seen one. Also, I have no memories of Germany as a child. Guess I was too young, although some people do?
My Mother named me Egon like my father, and her favorite artist Egon Schiele. But I never liked this name, that I felt had little to reflect the real me. I would change it in Australia at the age of 7 to Alex. I've never used Egon again, it appears only on papers. It's only a paper moon.
I adored my mother, she introduced me to Art, Grimms Fairytales ad her favorite childhood book Shockheaded Peter. She would take me on long walks through cemeteries, and we especially enjoyed the Italian ones. Our favorite though was Waverley on the coast of Sydney close to Bondi.
26938_105651649458768_342795_n.jpg
OLD PIC I ONCE TOOK.

My father was a sailor lured by the sea to migrate to Australia. Leaving Germany on a golden cruise ship called The Queen Fredericka. A beautiful old cruise ship, famous in the 1920's for being one of the first with an open deck swimming pool.
Malolo-Queen-Fred.jpg
AN OLD POSTCARD

And it is here on this beauty that my memories begin... wandering around the deck watching the beautiful sailors at work. Once after breakfast in the golden salon, I remember taking a bun with me to the swimming pool, throwing it into the pool just to watch it soak up the water and sink. Or my first birthday party on the ship turning 4 years old, and that cake that tasted like plastic.
402810_318636168160314_1757631439_n.jpg

And memories of staring at and into an endless ocean, staring into the reflection of the water, even at night before sleeping...staring into dark reflections. Until...

395656_318670561490208_1246603244_n.jpg

Our first stop was Papeete, Tahiti. It's here in Papeete, were some memories where burnt into my soul. To my childish mind it was like visiting heaven until... I saw tourists taking photos of old Maohis (the indigenous peoples of Tahiti) and their reaction of shock and horror, I will never forget.
I believe that I feel uncomfortable about being a tourist myself because of this. I later found that the reason for their angst of photography was that they believed that a camera could capture a part of their soul.
The island made a big impact on my growing mind and I am obsessed with it's beauty and I adore Polynesians and their culture until today.
e9140477b543249b0aab7ee9c884d5ba.jpg
CALLING THE GODS-Polyvorian Collage by Alex Zondro Art

Growing up in the suburbs of Sydney in the 70's was a magical time and on a trip with my father to Wollongong, I was introduced to Dreamtime, Aboriginal Mythology and Art. I started drawing at the age of 5 and became a self taught artist since childhood.
375468_314164705274127_1600586740_n.jpg
That's all for tonite folks... til next time!
starfishdammed-alex-zondro-artXXL.jpg

I'll grow back like a damned starfish - Alex Zondro Art
Thank you, Alex

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit.
Your art seems very interesting, are they all hand painted?

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.01 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44