REVELATION artwork and process video

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, today is the big day, I am sharing a process video :)
It took all day to edit but I hope you guys enjoy seeing how I did this artwork.

I used 300g watercolor paper and that is very important if you work with watercolors and you don’t want your paper to warp.
As for my technique I combine a lot of watercolor and gouache layers.
I use gouache for opaque details and for transparent gradients I come over with watercolor. I love this play between materials as it allows me to overlay a lot of details and my composition doesn’t get muddy even if I mix complementary colors.

20664462_1956673631257279_5404725076563288257_n.jpg

I did a series of paintings like this one and all of them describe feelings, that is the reason I choose a busy composition with a lot of decorative elements as my own visual metaphoric language.
This artwork speaks about the feeling of discovery, as the details of a mystery start to reveal in front of you, it feels like a breath of fresh air after being submerged under dirty water. All your senses come back, you can finally see clear and breathe easy. The heavy weight of uncertainty stops pushing you down and you take in the uplifting feeling of REVELATION.

20728091_1957131611211481_2268324957036529337_n.jpg

Revelation 2017
watercolor on paper 29/34 cm( without frame)

The original framed painting is still for sale in my shop at €199.00
but I make a discount for steemians so the price in SBD is also 199 :)

and here is the shorter version of the promised video

Sort:  

What an amazing style O.O That's a 100% vote and a follow from me!!

thanks your work is amazing too
followed back to see more
;0

Yay art buddies!! ;D

I forgot to mention, this is a post @steemcreations so the image is totally free to use in your posts here on steemit or to print out if you wish so :)

Great use of Watercolors and Gouache - like the Style and Colors :-)
resteemed :-)

thank you @yoogyart for visiting

Excellent. The video made the painting even more enjoyable. Makes anyone appreciate the effort and time placed.

thank you @coquiunlimited it really means a lot as I am not so good in editing there for is hard work ,100 % more difficult than painting for me :)

Well you did a great job and placed a higher value in your work in more ways than one! @originalworks, place this tag to add more value to your work here (and a few points more as well).

thank you, did not know you can tag that, I believed they are supposed to find and reword original content
sounds a bit sill now that I wrote it :))

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 46.0% @elizabeth302 upgoat, thanks to @alexandravart
It consists of $5.79 vote and $1.93 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alexandravart to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

thank you for sharing your video.. beautiful work!

hi, nice to see you here :) @marty-arts

nice on .... i like this picture

It is beautiful Alexandra! :D :D

I like all the little patterns and colors.. So awesome!

Loved it and following you....Very nice work

Amazing work ^^

thank you @gunankoseolu your daily sketches are so expressive:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47