LEARN OIL PAINTING with me STEP BY STEP :)

in #art6 years ago

Today’s post is a bit different as I am not sharing one of my finished artworks. I am trying a new medium and I want to share with you my learning experience.

Here is my first ever oil painting (study) I referenced a screenshot from Alice Grace new tv series, because that is what I was watching lately and I liked the lighting.

jgfgfj.jpg

Oil painting can be very intimidating and complex, there are so many techniques and challenges to discover and I hope I can count on your support and feedback in this journey.
I have to add, I never tried this before and I am learning by trial and error , so if you are more experienced than me and see that I am going in the wrong direction please point that out :)
For those who are beginners like me, I hope we can learn together from MY MISTAKES :)

First- MATERIALS I bought

Untitled-1.jpg

First mistake- I tried to improvise a pallet with cardboard wrapped in plastic- did not work for mixing colors with the palette knife …..
Than I used a piece of tile and it worked great for mixing and it was easy to wash

gugufgu.jpg

First day and first layer of color ….

sfrete.jpg

Second day I added some minimal glazing because my colors were a bit dull
because this was not meant to be a masterpiece, I fooled around with some color over :)

hhjgjhgjhg.jpg

hjbjhvjgvj.jpg

Hope you like it and is useful for some of you
There will be more posts like this one in the future, as I said I will share my learning experience and progress

https://www.facebook.com/alexandrav.art/shop
https://www.instagram.com/alexandrav.art/
https://www.etsy.com/people/alexandravasile4
https://twitter.com/alexandrav_art

Sort:  

Nice one, what a good start @alexandravart. I see you got some liquin, its good stuff, makes your work dry faster. If you feel your colours are dull, it might be because your brushes contain thinner. Try to use only pure paint with a little liquin, only use the thinner to clean the brushes. Then wipe them thoroughly. Too much titanium white also makes the colours chalky sometimes. For the palette I suggest neutral colour gray, mixing on the white palette, can trick your eyes too :) I hope you had good ventilation, and enjoyed oil painting :)

did not use thinner but I think the white did it :) thank you so much

What an awesome idea for a post. Something that many budding artists can make use of. Love it!!! @alexandravart

thanks, I am really glad that is useful, I will do video for next one and it will be a different technique, so stick around :)

awesome @alexandravart :) Wish i had room to bring out the oils as well! Tiny city center apartment just wont allow for it! :(

Thanks for sharing! :)

thanks @beekart do't have much room, also center city apartment, I have less than 2 m square to work with :))

ah then you are clearly more dedicated then i am haha :D

it was a long time wish :)

Very nice style great work :0

Oh cool. It's true oil painting is intimidating! Thanks for the tips and the mistake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99