The four seasons #2 - Spring -Quadriptych sculpture

in #art7 years ago (edited)

As i said in my previous post The four seasons #1-Winter . this quadriptych is my own interpretation of the 4 seasons theme so well treated by Archimboldo.
If you are interessed you can read this previous and the next later.

For the Spring i choosed :
Ornements : Flowers, butterflies, leaves.
Composition : Deployement curves
Color : Green patina. There is two primary seasons: Winter and Summer for wich i choosed metallic aspect, gold and silver and two secondary Spring and Autumn for wich i used patina (Green and brown). These four colors are the main colors of traditional bronze artworks. So there is an accidental correspondence between seasons and colors of ancient bronze artworks.

w3printemps.jpg

wDSC_0853_lzn.jpg

It's time now to do the composition. in fact I often work without much preparatory sketches. Just the main volumes. the rest depends on the elements that I will find in my stock. There is some adaptation as i go along. Here, for the background it was not necessary to do the sketches once I had found the items I was going to use. I've done the composition directly on the workbench.

wDSC_0855_lzn.jpg

wDSC_0862bis_lzn.jpg

wDSC_0868bis_lzn.jpg

The background is a new brass plate. Patina is done with the cold chemical recipe i use to do the verdigris color. The advantage of my recipe is that I can master the color of blue to apple green depending on the concentration of the two ingredients (Ammonium chloride and sodium carbonate). On the other hand it's longer. Several layers and several days of waiting

wDSC_1029.jpg

wDSC_0004.jpg

wDSC_0001.jpg

To see the previous post about Winter: https://steemit.com/art/@alain-bellino/winter-the-four-seasons-quadriptych-sculpture

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Cool green patina look for this increbible Work - Fantastic - well done :-)
voted & resteemd

Excellent, it is good to see the steps and how your work progresses through various stages. Now, I can't wait to see the whole quadriptych!

Thanks @nyarlathotep, i'll published the others two certainly next week, i'm not sure the week end is a good time for publishing. What do you think?

I don't know much about the best time for posting but the way I see it is this:

  • If you have quality followers, they will see the post whenever you post it. Personally, there are some posters that I check out manually, even when I do not see them in my "feed" in the first glance.
  • If you depend a lot on bulk upvotes and need visibility on your posts, the busy weekend may hide your new post quickly from "hot"/"trending" lists.

Surely, the tags and title also affect how much visibility your posts will get. At least, that's what I think after 5-6 weeks of casually watching the traffic here.

Thanks ! That what i thought, good posts are the key :-) And patience....

You have an amazing body of work. The seasons are incredible i also love your progress photos, such rich colours.

Thanks @ammonite ! I understand your need for color :-)

totally awesome! Woww man.. such cool stuff :o

Thanks a lot @beekart will follow you. some good posts too in your blog !

thanks mate ;D i wish my house would allow for some sort of workshop so i could sculpt and paint too.. this digital stuff is work, but it bored me most of the time :(

Digital work is powerfull but miss the work of hand. For personnal achievement better to do the both. Sorry you can't

I know what you mean, though digital work is done with the hand. I know people recognize work that I've made because of the way it is drawn and painted.

But it isn't a physical object. For alot of people that makes it not 'real'.. which makes it less valuable as a piece of 'art' for most. Though the fundamentals you need to make a good design, drawing or painting with the digital medium are the same as with traditional mediums.

Sorry i get carried away! :D

Yes but you don't touch directly metal, wood, paint or other material. There is an interface.
I agree , you need the same skills maybe more...

This is fantastic and I love it.

Big Fan!!! amamazing!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74