You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gulliver - sand sculpture

in #art7 years ago

Very good place for this sculpture. Pity that the arch is to small it would have been nice if the lilliputian had been of human size. (and it would have requiered much more sand).
A question: do you add only water in the sand?

Sort:  

Yes I too wished it could be bigger. With my next Gulliver sculpture I tried something different but that's another story. Will post about that soon enough. I like what you said to Leoplaw in your other post about waiting for your followers to grow before showing certain things.

In answer to your question. The sculpture is made from just compacted sand and water but when I am finished I spray the surface with very dilute Pva/ Polybond and water. This holds the surface grains together and stops the detail from drying out and blowing away. It also protects it a bit from heavy rain that can dapple the surface.

I've seen you not posted a lot of your works . I expected that this detention was voluntary :-)

Thanks for your answer, that's what i thought when you spoke about "sand stone" to @deirdyweirdy

Yes, I've gotten quite busy with work lately and it takes me a while to put together all the info I need for a post. More coming soon.
The thin 'windscreen' spray I use on the sculpture doesn't really add any strength to the sculpture. It more preserves the surface. As the sand in the core dries out it becomes really hard and as you can see from the destruction video for my Poles apart sculpture we need machines to break them down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49