" Aurora. " Acrylic on canvas (29 photo progression of the painting)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Aurora. #1.jpg

I've had two major influences on my art for the past three years. One influence is the Aurora Borealis (North Lights) and the other is Australian aboriginal art work. Aboriginal art work makes my eyes feel something... I don't know how to explain it... it just speaks to my soul. I call it "doing the dots", which is my own form of meditation.

This is my first painting for Steemit! Woo-hoo!! I've been doing the dots for 5-6 years, you can see some old art work I posted in a collage in the One Month on Steemit post. My goal is to get 10-15 painting together to have another art show. You'll get to see them first so stay tuned in. :)

This painting is called "Aurora.", it is painted with acrylic on 3 different canvas that are 36 X 12 inches each. I tried to take as many photos as I could.

Aurora #2.jpg

I started out with a very dark green, it was so dark it is hard to see on the black background. Each picture is where I stopped to mix more paint before starting another row of dots.

Aurora #3.jpg

It just keeps growing...

Aurora #4.jpg

These are the last two photos! I'm still working on my photography skills so.... there is good detail. Check it out.

Aurora #5.jpg

I was happy with the final product as you can see below in my painting collage.

Aurora #6.jpg

Thanks for checking out my first painting for Steemit. Let me know what you think.

Brandon

AK tiny home banner.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! This is an amazing work! Love it so much!
Hope to see it more such a kind of works! ;)

Thank you! I'm working on it. I need 9-14 more pieces for a art show.

Dude! I love this so much! What a cool abstract interpretation of the northern lights. I love how you have used loose inspiration from the aboriginal art in the way you use negative space and the dots, but you have obviously taken those ingredients, and the northern lights as inspiration, and come up with your own unique art style! And yeah, you look pretty happy about it LOL Really nice post. I love how you presented the process pics, this is very well formatted.

Cheers - Carl

Thanks so much for such kind words! It means a lot to me. Painting is one of my passions and I'm so happy others are enjoying it. I was thinking of Steemit when I started the process so I made sure to document the whole thing from start to finish. Man... you wrote so many nice things I'm a little overwhelmed.

Humble Thanks,

Brandon

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94