My New Painting. Rovinj, a Gem of Croatia. Oil, canvas.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Today I have finished my new painting. I have been to Croatia but in Dubrovnik. Before my trip to Croatia my colleague sent me the photos from his trip. I really liked one with Rovinj which I painted. And there is one more I would like to paint later.

enter image description here

enter image description here

Work in progress. I made the base with the pallet knife

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

I have a question to you. In 1 week I will start a new course with pastel. I have never tried pastel, so it will be my first experience. And my teacher recommends to paint from paintings and not from photos for a start. I heard such opinions from many teachers. Actually in our studio I am the only one who paints from photos (I had only two paintings from somebody's paintings in the beginning). The others paint from somebody's paintings. I don't feel quite comfortable to paint from paintings as I have a feeling that I am stealing. But may be I need to....to paint better. And I have a lot of artists whose paintings I really like. I talked to many people and they even don't think it is plagiarism as the result will be different. What is your opinion? Thank you very much.

Sort:  

Beautiful. Well, most paintings being sold in the streets of famous cities are copied :)

and what do you think about that? would you buy if you like?)))

i dont know much about paintings, but if i like it i would buy it. so far, stuff ive bought cheap were original paintings by local artists.

Thank you very much for your reply! Highly appreciated! And it will calm down my conscience when I paint from somebody's painting)))

you're welcome. you have a gift, enjoy it :)

))))))))))))

and thank you very much)))

Just browsing around and your painting caught my attention. Nice artwork keep it up! I added and followed you hope we can stay connected. Upvote you to support.

That's very nice and looks like a nice day to hang the clothes out to dry too.

hahahaha)))))))))))))

wow, so beautiful artwork, @aksinya !!!! I love it! ^_^

thank you very much, Silvia!

wow great skills

thank you sooo much!!!!!!!!!!!))))

thank you very much!!!!!!!!!!

Those yellow and blue complementary catch the attention.
Nice choice ...
:)

thank you very much))))))))))

You are very creative

)))))))))) thank you)))))))))

You are welcome

Quite evocative! I can almost picture myself somewhere at the coast :) Oh, how I look forward to July. Only, you misspelt the city name- it's 'Rovinj'. We have this weird letter combinations :)

Happy to hear! I will correct the spelling)) Thank you))

Stunning work. Does your teacher want you to copy the whole painting or just study the style?

Thank you very much))) The aim is to study the style. But yes, you need to try to make a painting as close to the original as you can.

I can see the purpose of copying a small section so that you understand the technique of how the artist has applied the medium and used colour etc. Not sure about the whole thing, but people teach differently.

Thank you very much for your reply! It is important to me)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81