Some Advice On Watercolors :)

in #art7 years ago

I have been using watercolors for about 2 years now and to be honest I can't get enough of them! There is so much more to be explored along with other mediums that it becomes hard to choose sometimes.

Anyway, I have received questions regarding some tips about watercolors & as you might have speculated, here I am with some insight n the same :)

1. Patience

paint-brushes-984434_960_720.jpg

Before I even start with the tips, the first thing you will need in great quantity is....?
PATIENCE. Now I would not call myself a person with patience but then again I have made a fool of myself because of the very same reason. :P

There are times when you will work with layers and you will have the "waiting for it to dry" period. This period feels like something really delicious being prepared but you can't have it until it's cooked!

2. Let it go

feather-1588819_960_720.jpg

As I like to put it, watercolors have a mind and a soul of their own. Therefore, it is very important to let go of the control sometimes.

It's natural that we feel the need to gain control of whatever we are creating but sometimes one needs to let the paint and the water, do the job! A lot of the times I have achieved some effects which would have been difficult to create with brush.

3. Exploration & Techniques

art-1281458_960_720.jpg

Okay, there are many things that you can try out with watercolors.
The paper quality, paint, brushes, adding other mediums,etc. can be changed as per requirements. There are already many methods and experiments out there which I see like permutations and combinations. For eg: Using salt, sugar, rubbing alcohol, plastics and many more.
But one can always be creative ;)

4. Less is more

ibis-2326639_960_720.jpg

When I started off with watercolors, I had this notion : More paint ➡ better results.
I slowly realized that it's not quite so.
For example : Working with multiple layers. A little paint can do just fine and really intensify your artwork! Yeah, try it.

5. Have fun

hands-1698114_960_720.jpg

I find watercolors a great medium to relax my mind and just let things "flow". And I think that's the whole point, you know. To really enjoy whatever you are creating! After all, it's all about having fun, no?

I hope this was helpful to you and I really tried to explain this in the simplest manner. I am still learning new things everyday, but if you still have any queries please let me know :)

Images have been taken from the public domain.


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

i remember trying out water colors, i didn't only ended up painting the picture .. but everything else around it too ! including myself. Its such a messy affair for me

Hahah yes the struggle is real though!

I followed you :) Welcome in our group. Pls post as much as you can.

Thank you! Yes I am glad to be a part of it :)

Watercolors are so pretty, but so hard to do ; w ;"""

I'll stick to digital art, it's easier LOL
//SHOT//

I know they are! But the results are oh so beautiful :P

They are beautiful --

I just love your bird picture ; w ; It's so cool and artsy lol.

Calling a painting "artsy" feels repetitive or weird lol? But I really love artsy pictures x)
Like stuff that? It's really beautiful and expressive, even if it's not really that logical??

Idk if that makes sense, but... XD
I just love playing with effects in my drawings lol

(What kind of bird is that, anyway? I almost called it a flamingo, but when I got a second look at it, I was thinking no wait, it's a... crane?)
(I get birds mixed up a lot tbh hahaha;;;; )

(I actually sat for a solid minute trying to decide if something on TV was a swan or a goose once;;;; //SHOT//)
(I mean if you think about it, swans are just geese with face masks XD //BRIK'D)

Anyway, I'm rambling, sorry;;;;;

Oh my god. I didn't even notice those changes in the picture until now! 😂
I totally understand though. I mix them up too!

I love your post on creating watercolors @aishwarya. So true!!! I feel as though when I am looking at watercolors, I am looking at the delight of the world, spirit through the lens of colors buoyed by water. Love the illustrations that you chose. Makes me want to paint again.

Thank you :)
Glad that I could inspire you somehow!

I love these tips! I guess they also apply to digital art a bit :) I really like the artwork you added, especially the flamingo!

Yes, hehe you are the master in the digital thing :P Glad you could relate!
Agreed on the flamingo. It's so beautiful :)

Wow, I am not an artist, and I have never painted anything, but I follow you only to see those clear, minimalistic colors on paper.

Keep painting.

Wow I really appreciate that :) thank you so much :)

great art work and concept
colors are good...keep it up

always welcome and do keep me posted when you post such a lovely work
do also check my blog posts. wanna update soon

Sure! No problem

yeah...thanks as i await also your comment on my posts...success steeming!

Great advice @aishwarya.... Patience is the key to be successful.

Thanks a lot :) Yes "patience"!

Thanks for the tip, im into oil paint and acrylic, i should also explore watercolors

Yes! You are wonderful with those mediums :)
Would love to see what you do with watercolors!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54