One On One With Watercolors - I

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I never really looked at any advices/tips from the pros when I started out with watercolors 3 years back. I loved teaching myself and understanding the medium as I went along. Over the years, I did find reading and researching quite helpful and insightful. And needless to say, I learn everyday! Today I thought of laying down a few experiences/tips of my own for those of you who might be wanting to know a bit more about watercolors. :)

As They Say, Invest In Your Passion!

If you really want to learn watercolors, then DO NOT hesitate to buy some good quality stuff. I am not advising you to go for supplies that are way out of your budget but at least save yourself the struggle of deviating from the basic requirements just for a few bucks and this applies to other mediums too. To be honest, when I had just started, I remember thinking "wow, some of this stuff is really expensive!" But I also knew that most of it is a long term investment and will reap bigger benefits some day. And I am glad I followed my gut.

art-1281459_1280.jpg

Experiment

Be fearless. If you think that you are gonna get a flawless art piece every time, it ain't happening. I learned it the hard way and this is something that I remind myself everyday. It feels bad to have the materials go wasted but the one thing that you gain is experience. There was this one time when I attempted a portrait of Gigi Hadid and it was so bad that I didn't even attempt another one for about a year! And hid it under a pile of books just to keep the embarrassment away which now seems silly to me :P

experiment-2951387_1280.jpg

Patience

It can get difficult to wait for things to dry when you are new to watercolors. Sometimes you are just so excited to paint that the gaps might start to annoy you. But you HAVE to wait. I have seen many people use a blow drier but I personally don't like to do it to avoid the change in flow of colors. If you are just as impatient as me, do tasks which you can accomplish in the waiting time so that you are completely distracted from the thought of adding another layer. And in time you will get used to waiting without getting agitated over it :)

man-1130496_1280.jpg

Continued in Part 2.

Images are sourced from pixabay.com


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

Even if you follow rules and and look at the work and advises of other professional people, you will still choose your own way at the end. Every person is different and choosing your own style is what makes you unique :)

Exactly my point! We just need to explore and expand our horizon so we can make conscious choices too :)

Hello @aishwarya, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91