Exciting News For Aquarelle Lovers!

in #art5 years ago

The more I dive deep in the world of watercolors, the more I realise how little I know. The art medium itself or activities that revolve around it. Today I learned out about the World Watercolor Month organised by Doodlewash. I saw it on their facebook page which honestly, I don't even remember joining. But as soon as I read about what the challenge was, my excitement levels were off the charts!

Doodlewash.com, a community for people who love watercoloring and sketching was founded by Charlie O'Shields in 2015. The World Watercolor Month is a 31 watercolors in 31 days global event which is also Charlie's brainchild and initiated first in 2016. This annual challenge takes place in the month of July and also helps young artists to get art supplies by raising charity.

WWM.jpg

Now it will be too ambitious of me if I say right away that I will make 31 pieces of watercolor art and I think it is a little overwhelming at once. Thanks to the creators of this challenge who understood this better and therefore there is no rule which says "do 31 days consistently or else you are out of the challenge." The purpose is to give as much time as you can, have fun and share whatever you watercolor, whenever you can :)

All you have to do is tag your artwork (made using watercolor or gouache) with #WorldWatercolorMonth when you share it on social media.

Surprisingly I talked a little with Mr. Charlie himself on facebook (yes, freakin' blew my mind off) and I told him how much I loved the manifesto. I haven’t read such light hearted directions ever, I think. I admire how the little problems that every artist faces have been addressed so subtly :)

Screenshot 2019-06-20 at 5.10.55 PM.png


Good News for US citizens and Canadians!

Doodlewash is having a free giveaway for those who love to sketch and can't resist having more tools :D The winner gets a set of five Winsor & Newton Fineliners, ranging in size from 0.1 to 1.0 and a Winsor & Newton Cotman watercolour brush pen set, featuring 12 half pans and brush pen in a compact case. It will be revealed on June 26, 2019. (Links at the end)

Screenshot 2019-06-20 at 5.01.18 PM.png

There are plenty of other challenges hosted by Doodlewash that you can be a part of every month. The current one is named "Fun In The Sun." Makes me want to carry my supplies and hit the beach! :D You can also submit your artworks and be a guest artist or join the doodlewash club if interested. I think it's a pretty good community to be a part of and meet like minded people. I am doing it as soon as I finish writing this! About 500 artists have been featured globally which you can see in the image below. Did you spot the doodle logo in Antarctica? ;)

Screenshot 2019-06-20 at 4.59.10 PM.png

A short trailer for the WWM.


Will you guys be taking on this challenge? If so, let me know in the comments and maybe we can do it together here on steemit!

All images were sourced from https://doodlewash.com
WWM Challenge: https://doodlewash.com/world-watercolor-month-july/
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/worldwatercolor/about/
Giveaway Link: https://doodlewash.com/giveaways/sketching-stuff-giveaway/

Sort:  

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

You got a 36.43% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @aishwarya! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74