Weekly doodle: Bear with cub, color pencil with wather (with process)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Weekly doodle: Bear with cub, color pencil with wather (with process)


ITA

Questa volta volevo provare un piccolo esperimento. Non proprio in realtà si tratta di un procedimento che ci avevano insegnato a scuola, ma era da parecchio che non usavo questa tecnica. Ho voluto provare a colorare il disegno "acquerellando" le matite colorate (per seguire questo procedimento è indispensabile che le matite colorate siano acquerellabili).


ENG

This time I wanted to try a little experiment. Not really something new, since it's a process they teached us at the school, but I didn't used this technique for a while. I wanted to try coloring my doodle "watecoloring" the bluepencil (notice that to follow this process you'll need a watercolorable pencil!).


Process


1. Inizio quindi cercando un'immagine di riferimento che mi piace. Questa volta avevo voglia di fare un giretto in Canada, così ho preso una bellissima immagine di un'orsa con il suo piccolo. Come sempre inizio dalla struttura e dalle linee principali per poi definire pian piano le linee.


1. I start looking for a reference image that I like. This time I just had the desire to go a little around in Canada, so I took a beautiful pic of a Bear mom with his cub. As usual I start with the structure and main lines. After that I start to define the line a little.



2. Dopo questo inizio a riempire il disegno con le ombre e definendo meglio lo sfondo e i vari soggetti.


2. After that I begin to fill the drawing with shading and texturing objects and the background.


3. Ora è; il momento della verità! Prendo il mio pennello in pelo di bue "Van Gogh" (trattiene l'acqua che è un piacere e sembra durare all'infinito!). Un bicchierino d'acqua e uno straccetto o un pezzetto di carta da cucina. Fisso il disegno ad una tavoletta di legno, per evitare che il foglio si accartocci troppo con l'acqua. In realtà bisognerebbe scegliere una carta adatta (per acquerello), ma dato che non avevo previsto questo esperimento ho usato una carta da disegno normale. Infatti all'inizio la carta la prende male, e si raggrinzisce parecchio. Asciugando però assorbe bene e si ristabilizza. Piano piano passo tutto il disegno espandendo le ombre e rinforzando dove necessario usando ancora la matita e ripassando poi sopra con il pennello.


3. This is the moment of thruth! I take my "Van Gogh" ox hair brush (I like the way it keeps wather and it seems to be indestructible!). A glass of wather, a cloth or a piece of kitchen paper. I fix the drawing to a wooden tablet, this helps the sheet not to crumble too much. Really you should choose an appropriate kind of paper (watercolor paper), but since I didn't planned this expreriment I used a normal drawing paper. In fact the paper seems to keep it personally at first, creasing quite a lot. While driyng however it soaks up nicely and it straightens. Slowly I brush on all the drawing, expanding the shadows. I strenght where necessary using the pencil and again the brush with wather.



Feelings with this technique


Mi sono divertito provando con questa tecnica. Permette davvero di ottenere dei bei risultati in modo piuttosto semplice. Si possono riempire velocemente gli spazi e di gestire bene i toni. Credo che la userò ancora!


I had a lot of fun trying this technique. It allows to get nice results quite easily. You can fulfill large areas quickly and you can also handle the tones. I really I think I'll use it again!

&bsp

Thanks for watching!

All the doodles where created by me using a bluepencil. I like to doodle with a bluepencil!

 You can also see my work at the following sites:

..… ..… ..… ..…


@airmatti

llustrator, graphic designer

Outdoor adventurer

Folk and Blues enthusiast 

Team sports lover!

Sort:  

Great work. How long did the first sketch take?

Thanks, hard to say precisely. Between 15-30 minutes

The little bear is really cute and a mother's protection can be felt in it. Cool tutorial to learn and draw.

Thanks, yes they are really caring as parents!

Hey @airmatti, you are making me so proud. I find the subject very appealing! Bravo!

Grazie!! I think we'll see bears again ;D

Nicely done! I love that you talk about the various steps you take!

Glad you like it, I want to develop this practice!

Mother child icebear relationship on point!

wow

Absolutely Brilliant Work

That looks very promising. Nice work. :)

I like it..

Hi @airmatti. I found this sketch calming and uplifting. Thanks for posting.

I have to say it has a calming effect while doing it! Thank you!

Piccata? Titicaca! I am Cornholio! I need piccata for my bunghole!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64