Character Illustration : Desert Elf

in #art6 years ago (edited)

title.jpg

Today I will share to you one of my very first character illustrations (legit for work) and the process on how I painted it.

It was my greatest honor to work with game designer Jere last year, 2017. This was for the table top game "Alessia". He provided me with character brief and reference illustration from one of the battle scenes in the game.

I can say that working on this project made me grow as a character designer and it was really fun seeing my progress along the way.

Small info regarding the World:

It is a fantasy world that has heavy asian/oriental theme and scifi elemets in a form of magic using technology (Flying Sky Ships, Wooden Robots, Magic created lights, force fields, holograms, etc. Lot of different races, Elves, Four Armed humans, Aliens, Elves, etc.

Desert Elf

They are Elves that have brown skin and live sort of nomadic desert tribe life. He is a Samurai type character that travels with his twin sister.

The software I used:


Adobe Photoshop CS6

Process:

  • (1) Sketch
    Draw a draft stickman pose - add some meat - and put on clothes XD

00-1.jpg

  • (2) Trace the overall silhouette and give it some base color drafts

03-0.jpg

  • (3) plot the rough sketch of the face

00.jpg

  • (4) Paint in initial details on face and body

01.jpg

  • (5) I brighten up the illustration and continue adding more details

02.jpg

  • (6) I added some cool colors on the shadow parts (as if there's a subtle secondary light from the side)

03.jpg

  • (7) As I said on my previous posts and process, start building up details from the focal point towards outer part of the character

04.jpg

05.jpg

  • (8) Polish and add essential detail to the other parts

07.jpg

  • (9) And now add details outward to the lower body. Make sure the details is not as much as the focal point. Observe gradient.

09.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

  • (10) And now it's done <3

desert elf-bg-less.jpg
Copyright @adelair - All Rights Reserved

A close up of his face:

02.jpg

And here's the gif version of the step by step process:

desert-elf.gif

I hope you guys enjoyed this entry today :)

See you again next time!

Adelair

Sort:  

Very nice, @adelair <3 I love the design of his outfit, and specially the hat, having its own exit for his long hair on the top, that is very cute (and also, practical!)

the close up view of his face is really showing off how good looking he is :> :> :> i likey, yes i do :D

Aww ♥️ I'm so grateful for your comments @veryspider 😁


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @adelair! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @adelair! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I like his expression a lot, and it's really great to see how you made him with the step by step. To create a character for a table top game, that must feel unreal. Well done, Adelair :).

-upvoted-

Thaaanks @scrawly
It felt unreal at first too XD

Wow, this is absolutely amazing! I'm only starting out with digital drawing 😣 It's pretty scary😬

Thank you very much @esli.kloppers
That's great XD I was scared at first too! I think that's normal hihihi.. just experiment and don't be afraid of failure, just learn from it ;)

This is beautiful. And creative. I like the originality you here demonstrate in this near tutorial design work.

So I am going to feature it in the next Xposed Curator's Rebound #34. You may find details about it Xposed Curator's Rebound

My hope is to bring your quality work here the exposure it deserves, and with it, hopefully some additional rewards.


Congratulations, and best wishes.

Thank you very much @mirrors
It's my honor to be featured!

You are welcome. That is some work of talent you got there! So the feature is well deserved.

Wow, I love this! Especially his face; there's something so deep in his eyes!!

Thank you @lynncoyle1 :D
I'm glad you love it! Eyes are indeed the window to our soul XD

i really liked the elf and i liked even more the title and contrast. what i mean by this is that elf are known for living in forests but a ''dessert elf' that's just wondering around seems pretty cool and unique

Right? It's not the normal thing XD it's pretty cool how the game designer and the team come up with the character brief. Really amazing!

colours are amazing!! beautiful Character draw in photoshop :))

Thanks @ykdesign :D
I'm glad it came out well XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12