Paintings #16 - Painting in the mist

in #art6 years ago

Misty landscapes can be breathtaking but sketching in them isn't always as much fun (unless you're wrapped up warm and with a ready supply of coffee). Fortunately, I love the outdoors and I was ready for this particular trip to Easedale Tarn in the Lake District...

I've been to this location a few times in different weather conditions and it's taught me to appreciate the changing environment - how the same place can feel very different on each trip. I'm planning a sketching trip up there again soon, so I thought now would be a good time to show you this place and some of my previous work inspired by it...

Morning mistsSTEEM.jpg

'Morning Mists', digital artwork, 2018

113_4133STEEM.jpg
Sour Milk Gill feeds the waterfall, named after the colour of it's
water as it leaves the tarn above

This is one of the shorter and easier walks in the lakes (for anyone with a reasonable level of fitness). The paths are good, if a little steep in places, and as long as you have good footwear and watch your step, you should have no difficulties.

The tarn itself is around 900ft above sea level (about 280m) and doesn't take longer than a couple of hours unless, of course, you are stopping every five yards to photograph or sketch something...but why rush in such a lovely place...?

113_4159STEEM.jpg
My youngest daughter, adding a splash of colour
to the autumnal hues

113_4160STEEM.jpg
The mists descend and muffle noise, adding a
peaceful stillness to this old tarn

I believe the tarn was created by a small glacial formation around 11,000 years ago and is one of the larger tarns in the area. It's popular with day-trippers when it's sunny but on this particular trip there were a handful of hikers and lots of space and silence. The mist, closing in and muffling all the sounds, made the place feel prehistoric...

113_4183STEEM.jpg

These photos are from a trip a few autumns ago. I've not been back
here in autumn since then but it's in the diary for this year....

113_4185STEEM.jpg

Amazing scenery wherever you look

113_4186STEEM.jpg
The landscape here feels old and huge,
tremendously humbling to be here

I still have a ton of sketches and photos to work through, and a number of ideas for larger paintings and digital work ahead. Here's another recent painting inspired by this particular day trip...

autumnalSTEEM.jpg

'Autumnal', digital artwork, 2018

Let me know if you've enjoyed this post and would like to see more like this, I'd love to hear your thoughts...thanks for stopping by...

113_4178STEEM.jpg
I think hills make me happy...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76