Plastic Drawing Contest: My Plastic Themed Entry

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It’s been a while since I entered an art contest. I blamed real life obligations that kept me from steeming recently. Now that midterms are done, I decided to take a shot for this contest. The contest is meant to raise awareness about how dangerous plastic is to the environment especially when left be in our oceans.

Wish me Luck!

17.jpg

14.jpg

Summary of the Post:

Tools
Creation Process
Bonus Works
Final Thoughts


Tools:

Black Dong A Gel Pen
White Bond Paper
Scratch Papers
Photoshop
Pencil and Erasers

Creation Time: 3 Hours


Creation Process:
Step 1: Conceptualizing the piece.

1.jpg

I browsed some google images and tried to break down the symbols to their most simplified form while retaining my art style. I used to be a cartoonist for my school so creating caricatures just became natural. Ignore the words “ampicillin and warning”. I placed my drafts on a scratch paper. The same paper I used when taking down quick notes.

Step 2: Creating Another Draft Based on the Initial Concepts

2.jpg

You can tell some resemblance from the positing and characters in the piece. Ignore the coffee stains on the piece of bond paper. Part of being a night owl.

Step 3: Flipping the Image

3.jpg

While it may be difficult to see the effect I’m trying to create right now, it would be explained on the final thoughts section of the post. By showing you the flipped image, I am trying to present a different perspective of what the possible outcome may be.

Step :4 Putting some initial inks

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

Step 5: Adding the Characters in Pencil

7.jpg

Step 6: Inking the Characters

8.jpg

Step 7: Placing the Dots for added effect. Everyone digs dots. Oh yeah.

9.jpg

Step 8: Just a close up view of the work.

10.jpg

The thick lines arranged in a curve creates a visual emphasis on how limited free space is for the characters. Their room to move in the free ocean is getting limited as the plastic threat approaches.

Step 9: Observing the overall effect

11.jpg

Step 10: Examining the effect in detail

12.jpg

I just wanted to see if the dots and lines added value to the piece. Thicker lines on the outside that will run thin as it goes near the center. The dots distribution becomes sparse as it approaches center.

Step 11: Flipping between two perspectives

13.jpg


Bonus Works:

I edited the image using photoshop to enhance the darker lines. Some details are lost in the process but it's really up to the viewer's preference which image is better.

16.jpg

17.jpg


Final Thoughts:

I approached the theme with a cartoon style because creating a serious atmosphere draws less attention to the truth. It is a serious problem and an inconvenient truth. However, people often become apathetic to the problem because they could not appreciate it unlike people who see the problem first hand.

Once you see a dead sea turtle, whale, or pelican washed ashore and find out plastic consumption caused their deaths, it really changes your perspective. Most people don’t appreciate the problem because the inconvenient truth is outside the realm of their awareness. Facts don’t change people immediately until they can fully experience and be engaged with the problem.

The problem is bigger than all the whales in the oceans combined. It affects everyone. I could no longer eat any seafood without thinking a microscopic plastic fiber is entering my body. The monster will only get bigger and our room to breath will only get narrower as this progresses.

You can keep flipping the image but the message remains the same. Plastic will remain a threat unless people started doing something about it.


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SteemArtistsBanner_smllSquished-NOTAGLINE.png

Sort:  

Very well done @adamada. Such talent :)

Salamat po Sir Herb :)

This is really good. I was sent here by your post in the #steemartists discord. Good luck on the contest. You've done an excellent job of laying out your process and the message of the art is clear.

Thank you for the compliment. I didn't recognize your name on the steemartist discord server. I might have been online during different times. Good to see a fellow member here :)

I'm not super active yet, I've dropped a few links and that's about it.

I hope you find more time to drop by for some chats once in a while. There's a bounties and commission channel there where you can join in art quests with rewards.

Oh cool. That's good to know. I've joined too many Discords for steem but the steemartists one is one of my favorites.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Adamada - Bot from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Good luck, adamada!!! I love the idea and the body languages that you captured with the fishies... the plastic monstrosity does seem very bad and very threatening ; __ ;

Wonderful work!!!

upvotes

Thank you spidey! it's an honor to have you stopping by this post :)

woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow
awesome line art!!!!! pang editorial ang dating!
upvoted and resteemed!!! :)
thank you so much for joining

Salamat po. Napansin rin ng Curie. Worth it yung effort. Ito lang yung post so far na medyo natagalan ako mag construct in detail.

Ang galing mo kaya. Dapat habaan mopa yung writing mo. And if colored ito, super nice!

A fine piece of work my friend. Very deep, same as you are.

Thank you my friend. Your compliment is too kind. :)

Nice ada :)
Hope you win this contest.
Great doodle art you've done amigo :)
Love how you explain it and I hope everyone who reads this understands the situation.

Inspired ako Che, lalo na pag nag comment si crush. heart heart~

Lovely art with an important message! It was nice seeing your process as well—I always like to see how other artists approach the creation of a piece.

Thank you for the compliment. I hope you continue supporting other artists on the platform too. I checked your blogs and you your skill for words. Are you already a member of the Isle of Write? that community is packed with the best artists around the platform. Would be nice to see you there as well :)

I am in the Isle of Write Discord, although I am quite new (both there and to Steemit in general), so haven't been very active. I actually found this post through the Discord!

Nice piece !
It perfectly illustrate that devouring invasion of natural space these amlgamated dumps have become

Nice illustration, and I enjoy seeing your artistic process too. Most of all, I appreciate the eco-conscious message you're saying with this Vision. The subject matter reminds me of an impactful sculpture created by discarded plastic bottles on botafogo beach in Rio, Brazil.

Here's the story: http://twistedsifter.com/2012/06/giant-fish-sculptures-made-from-discarded-plastic-bottles-brazil/

Thank you for the compliments. I have to be honest, I almost got paranoid when you dropped the link. The recent phising links on the site became rampant and I had to manually search for the topic mentioned there. Sorry about doubting you. The story you shared is amazing. I'm looking at the photos and they already sparked some recycling ideas.

Glad to know your experience about the paranoia of links–thanks for sharing that. Yes, I know what you're saying. I rarely send a link in a comment for that reason. Just felt it was a nice addition to your creation here, because it carries a similar vibe.

I'm glad you did drop the link. It gave me a good vibe for some recycling projects. Some friends of mine wanted to create a community project based on environment friendly themes. Your link just gave me the jolt I need for a suggestion. Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65723.04
ETH 3470.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45