Thalassophobia (Fear of the sea) Pen drawing

in #art6 years ago

This drawing was a doozy. I had a repeat client reach out to me about doing a commission. He basically wrote an email saying, "I was thinking of a diver in one of those old school diving suits in deep ocean coming across some creepy shit. "

I was excited already, as some of you have probably already seen... I love doing sea creatures and what not.

thalassophobia_LARGE.jpg

The finished 11x14" piece

I immediately agreed to working on this piece. It was quite the ride. I completely underestimated how long it would take me. But that's OK because I had a blast doing it.

20180625_231147.jpg

(sorry for the poor quality photograph) I started with the diver towards the bottom of the page. Shortly after that I just started going crazy filling the surrounding area with all kinds of creatures.

20180626_195027.jpg

Originally I was going to draw a huge mouth behind the diver, but I thought that a giant eyeball would be a little better... a little more mysterious.

Thalassophobia_Progress1.jpg

I did a lot of the sea creatures by making them up as I go. But also I did some research on some of the strange aquatic life. For example in this piece you can find a hog fish, vampire squid, fish eggs, tentacles, eels. You name it really.

Thalassophobia_progress2.jpg

Blob fish, I even put in a few cameos! Like the creature from the black lagoon, and the spider head from the thing.

thalassophobia_detail1.jpg

thalassophobia_detail2.jpg

thalassophobia_detail3.jpg

thalassophobia_detail4.jpg

thalassophobia_detail5.jpg

thalassophobia_detail6.jpg

Some detail shots.

I had such a fun time doing this piece, and the client was extremely happy!

It actually ended up on the front page of reddit which was really cool. You can see the post here:
https://www.reddit.com/r/pics/comments/8w0mjk/this_thalassophobia_inspired_drawing_took_me_over/

Also, I was contacted by a gallery here in Chicago, and we will be making very limited prints soon of 2 of my pieces.

You can see my work here:
https://www.anthonychristopherart.com/

If you are interested there is a newsletter sign up at the bottom of the page. I will be sending out an email when I get some prints of this made. It should be limited to 25 prints.

Thanks for checking out my work!
Stay Grim
Copyright @achristopherart. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

cute nightmare fuel (: upvote & follow!

I'm all about nightmare fuel!

nightmare fuel is making a comeback for sure! too much stuff about looking nice and adding filters going on right now

What would fit with this is the classical poetry of Friedrich Schiller DER TAUCHER - THE DIVER in both the original German and translated to English.
First lines of the poem:

"What knight or what vassal will be so bold As to plunge in the gulf below? See! I hurl in its depths a goblet of gold, Already the waters over it flow. The man who can bring back the goblet to me, May keep it henceforward, - his own it shall be."
*upvoted, resteemed*

Ohh yeah, I like that! Thank you!

ha, I didn't like it in school, this was one of a few classics we had to memorize.

You have maxim-ism down to a science. Your spaces are filled so lovingly and each scratch and line leads to another thing to discover.

I like your clients brief, succinct and to the point, but open enough for fun interpretation :)

Yes Yes. Thank you. I really dig filling up the page.

Wow. Simply a-ma-zing. I love it. Some of my fears of the sea are so well reflected in this artwork. I really wish I could afford a print of this one!

Thanks! I think the prints will end up being $30-40. I picked the paper myself, they will be very nice. Thanks for the kind words!

Uhm, that prize sounds really good, actually :D

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Amazing, amazing ! I loved the WIP you showed me when you were working on this and the final result definitely delivers the awesomeness~

Gorgeous composition (I already told you I love that black ocean eye at the center) and how the fishies crowded out like a giant frame around the canvas~ Very beautiful~ I love it!

... love fishies <3

great pic, @achristopherart ! always a treat to see your posts <3

I really liked the "what not" part in your story.

Wow, how long did it take you to draw?

This took me roughly 30 hours.

Gorgeous; missed this last week

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66