Cell door. 11x14" Pen drawing

in #art6 years ago

This intensive drawing of basically 1 pattern is sort of like therapy to me. Completely shut off the brain and go at it for hours.

Cell Door_small.jpg

Completed drawing first.

Cell Door_detail1.jpg

As far as pencils go, I started just with an outline of the door before doing any ink.

Cell Door_detail2.jpg

closer

Cell Door_detail4.jpg

closer

Cell Door_detail3.jpg

Cross-hatching and signature.

20180919_025042.jpg

In progress. I inked the door, at least the outline, then started doing the bricks.

20180920_233226.jpg

Here I am cross-hatching the bottom portion. I always get asked how long my drawings take. I can somewhat answer this time. So here is the cross-hatching in 1 direction like this //////. I listened to a podcast that was 1 hour and 48 minutes. And I didn't quite finish it with that direction. So let's say it took me a little over 2 hours to cross-hatch this way, ////.

And then there are 3 more cross hatching on top of this in these directions, \\, |||||, and ----. Totaling roughly 8 hours just for the cross-hatching of the bottom.

All in all this drawing took over 20 hours.

Thanks for having a look.
Website:
https://www.anthonychristopherart.com/

Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/anthonychristopherart/

STAY GRIM!
Copyright @achristopherart. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

AMAZING

All those bricks !!! you are incredible with your steady and patient hands, @achristopherart * ___ * Gorgeous piece, I love the sense of silence and absolute solitude in this piece !!!

upvotes and resteems

You must go to a happy timeless place when you are inking all those bricks? It is amazing and what a test of patience!

Yes, definitely. Just a calm place really.

Your drawings are always so complicated and time consuming! I understand that it is a sort of a therapy for me but I'm not that patient and I would get crazy with drawings all these little bricks!!

Beautiful detailed work! I don't understand why your reward is so low! I hope your account will grow fast as you absolutely deserve it!

Thank you. Maybe it's because I don't post everyday? Or maybe it's because my work is not really easy to consume? Who knows.

My opinion is that is it better to post quality articles a few times a week instead of posting nonsense every day 😊 but I can't judge anyone.. I just hope that you'll get bigger audience soon!

This looks like a fun therapy to shut the brain off. And the end result is certainly worth all those mind numbing crazy detailed hard work that you poured into the art.  
                       
I like it. Simple, beautiful, crazy <3.              

Thank you. I've always enjoyed doing doors surrounded by... things.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80