Big Time Baja | Digital Painting by AJ Brockman

in #art6 years ago

Thumbnails__0001_Baja2.jpg

The background on this piece is pretty simple, I wanted to paint some bad ass trucks! These are Trophy Trucks and considered the highest class of off-road racing vehicles. Designed with the sole purpose of moving as fast as possible over off-road terrain, this class has been meticulously developed over decades of competition. This is an open production class and all components will be considered open by SCORE International unless restricted. They are intended for desert racing only, and are not street legal. These vehicles are known as Trophy Trucks when raced in SCORE International sanctioned races, and Trick Trucks, when raced in Best in the Desert sanctioned races.

After watching a documentary on the Baja 1000, I was compelled to create my own reenactment. The (SCORE) Baja 1000 is an off-road race that takes place in Mexico's Baja California Peninsula. The 2016 SCORE Baja 1000 is the final round of a four-race series, previous events are the SCORE Desert Challenge, the SCORE San Felipe 250 & the SCORE Baja 500. The 2017 round will be the 50th SCORE Baja 1000, occurring from November 14–18 over an 800-mile loop both starting in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico, and ending in La Paz BCS, Mexico. The Baja 1000 allows various types of vehicle classes to compete on the same course – from such small and large bore motorcycles, stock Volkswagen, production vehicles, buggies, Trucks, and custom fabricated race vehicles. The course has remained relatively the same over the years, about every other being either a point-to-point race from Ensenada to La Paz, or a loop race starting and finishing in Ensenada. The name of the event can be misleading as the mileage varies for the type of event ("Loop" of 600 to 850 miles starting and finishing in Ensenada, or "Point to Point" also known as the 900. The first official race started in Tijuana, Baja California, on October 31, 1967, and was named the NORRA Mexican 1000 Rally. The course length that year was 849 miles (1,366 km) and ended in La Paz, Baja California Sur, with the overall winning time of 27 hours 38 minutes (27:38) set by Vic Wilson and Ted Mangels.

Thumbnails__0001_Baja_mock.jpg

Thumbnails__0001_Baja_4.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider upvoting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. If you're looking to go the extra mile in helping me on my journey, also please consider a re–steem so I am able to reach your audience. The steemit community means the world to me and I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

As my account grows, it is becoming more difficult to reply to every comment. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will do my best to respond. I can guarantee I at least read every comment given. I am dedicated to spending a full-time effort on this platform. Everything posted on my profile (@abrockman) is 100% original content and exclusively shared on steemit. Any reproduction of my work without written consent is strictly prohibited. Please remember the best way to grow our community is by producing outstanding original content of your own to share with all of us.

Sort:  

this is gorgeous! at first I thought it was a photo, it reminds me of motostorm. It's a dessert racing video game you might like the visual style of.

Nice, I will check it out! Thanks for the comment and recommendation.

Good work. This painting remind me the movies of nineties in which hero follows a villain to safe their heroin or family..

Perfect coment broo🔱

Very true, I can totally see that now! Thank you for your awesome comments as always.

Hi,Mr.Abrockman please explore my blog please

good I like this

Thanks bro❤

I had never heard of digital painting until I saw this. Very talented, keep up the good work! Much love mate!

Thank you my friend, very glad to share with you. I have given you a follow!

It's striking to me that these are digital paintings, and not rendered. The detail on the trucks is incredible, and the colors really pop. Reminds me a bit of Mad Max with the oranges and blues.

Thank you, that is a wonderful complement. Yes, It takes me many hours to achieve that detail. Love Mad Max, might have to do something like that in the future, Maybe that's why I like trophy trucks so much. I have given you a follow, look forward to chatting more.

Thank you @abrockman. I really enjoyed your post, even if you don't get a chance to read this. The images remind me of a PC game I played in the 90's called "Monster Truck Madness".

Grew so nostalgic reading this post. Take me back in the day with that haze..

LOL… Wow, I remember that game! Funny how we all can relate and maybe even some subliminal influences. Thank you for your awesome comment.

Yeah dude I enjoyed that walk down memory @abrockman. Much love playa..

i used to go off road and make BIG jumps on the mountains around the tracks!, thank you, i got nice flashback of those times @kofibeatz

@abrockman i always wanted to be a digital artist, but i really never started painting lol (even got a wacom intous a4 i ended up selling last year). You are skilled, and this paint is really nice !, you got new follower of your works, keep it up man!

Man this is really wonderful! You're trully talented. I can see a lot of effort is invested in this one and it looks perfect! I'm curious of which style you made this painting, what software did you use? Keep your good work up. Have a good day - @tonac :D

Thank you for your great comment, yes, it is a lot of work, but well worth the outcome. I mainly use Corel Painter and Adobe Photoshop.

That's cool and knowledge in PS is really wanted. Good luck!

I really like it abrockman. I do a little digital painting as well. I like digital painting better then oils now. No messy clean up. What do you think?
DSC_0730-Edit-Edit-Edit.jpg

Wow, amazing job! Yes, I agree, there are many benefits to digital painting. I have given you a follow!

Your the best abrockman! I followed you as well. Keep up the amazing work.

Wow,I love the blurry effect from the sand. It add some realistic effect overall. I didnt expect it would be a great masterpiece to be displayed because all I see out there is a common abstract painting with no sense.This one is a totally different. Nice work!! Anyway bro I can make you a footer with animation like "follow me" with your signature, I am also an artist and animator. I love seeing artworks and paintings which really motivates me.

Hey there! Thank you for such a wonderful thought out complement. I would be honored to have you design something for me in the footer. Shoot me an email at [email protected] or send me whatever you would like to come up with. That is very generous of you. I have given you a follow and really look forward to possibly collaborating in the future. All the best my friend!

The motion and colors in this one are amazing @abrockman! Incredible, as always :)

Thank you brother, always appreciate your support and encouragement. We need to collaborate on something in the future, maybe do a painting from one of your songs. Hit me up on discord chat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28