You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: American Women With Chinese Tattoos - Hope - 中国纹身花刺的 - 希望美国妇女

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Don't think it's a real tattoo on the body. More like some text added to a photo.

//Edit: just realized it's an art but not a photo of a real woman. The text on the body is too flat anyway, no 3D effect.

Sort:  

I created the character in DAZ3D and have been working on adding tattoos in Photoshop afterward. The method for doing it in the 3D program can be difficult because you have to isolate the layer on the skin. Doing so in PS is tricky too because you have to play with the Gaussian Blur and opacity of the layer.

I think you need to use the technology that adds textures to the surface of a 3D model. You've already been doing so with the clothes right?

//Edit: perhaps the cloths are 3D models as well (although perhaps with textures on it). But the skin would be texture.

The clothes are both assets from DAZ Studio. The top is stock and the pants are from a female pirate wardrobe I have. They looked like realistic yoga pants when I tried them on her. There is a surface creation add-on for DAZ3D, but I don't have it. You can use the Layered Image Editor, (LIE) to apply any PNG directly to the surface of your assets. In this case though, I can only choose the torso as a whole, which throws front and back in the mix.

This character is going to be one that I create running story around with her yoga instructor Tonio. The tattoos are something I'm working on and wanted to give PS a try. I have two of the three renders with the both of them done now. I'm rendering them in 1080 HD so it takes a while. Probably post it this evening though.

Thanks for the reply.
LIE can't have "transparent background" image right? Or custom-defined shape on layers? I think Photoshop has that.
There are also tools which can render "on the fly" which can significantly improve work efficiency.

You're right, the LIE does work like that, and is pretty easy to put any image with transparency onto it. I think the problem I having is with this particular model preset. Instead of being able to isolate the lower abdomen section, the surface selection tool grabs the entire torso. When you open LIE, it's a garbled mess. I think I'll have better luck applying any body art from the base Genesis 3 model before applying the model preset.

I can render on the fly in DAZ Studio, but I have a 4 year old mac and most times have DAZ#D rendering, Photoshop open, 12 Chrome tabs and I'm mining on the machine to boot. I'm beating my CPU like a rented mule, so I avoid that and let it render at the end while I'm doing other things.

I want to build an Ubuntu based render with Blender and the clustering applications they have for it. If I can get that working, then I had visions of lending out render resources to Steemit members who also want to render 2d and 3d images and animations. But I misplaced my het with the propellor on it :) Thanks for the replies.

Here's a successful tattoo I rendered within DAZ3D, @rigaronib did the Steemit art originally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55