Steem Cartoon: Social critics through cartoon strips

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I am a professional cartoonist. I draw cartoons whenever I feel like doodling , wherever I could.
I have been doing this for the past 32 years, for magazines, journals, books news papers and many more.

My pseudonym is MIE, short form of my given name, Ahmad Hilmy. Here in steemit, i am known as @abgmie, which means, ‘big brother Mie’.8FF22894-2A37-4B74-B23E-FD950DAD8287.jpeg
Me showing a replica of my long cartoon drawings done for my next book cover,

To me, drawing cartoons is a ‘theraphy’. It really can reduce some stress in life. It also brings you into another world of its own. You may, most of the time thought that, cartooning is all about producing humour or laughing matters, but to me, it is more than just trying to be funny.

Through my cartoons, I convey most of my views, opinion, critics and much more, indirectly. It is an opportunity to deliver my massages to my audients. I am lucky enough to be having a column in our local Malay weekly , Mingguan Malaysia to express my ideas.
90A1F1A9-04B6-404E-A988-4CE1693F9A87.jpeg
The cover of the news paper, published every Sunday.

I had been contributing my single panel black & white cartoons to this news paper since 2013 (5 years already). I had touched so many issues and topics to amuse the readers. I had also received good remarks and response to motivate me to crack my head more, each week with deadlines. Even though, I enjoyed doing it, especially , when I consider this a great opportunity for me to give SOCIAL CRITICS through my cartoons.

5A3C0F59-D996-4661-BDBA-72B3B3303405.jpeg

0246F640-206A-456F-9BBA-431F477E5BE2.jpeg
That is where my panel is located, the title REFLEKSI means REFLECTION, in my mother tongue language.

In this post, I am going to share one of my recent critics on our Malaysia social life as an example.

I quickly captured the incident, to share with the readers.

This is how the story goes...

Recently, I entered a gents’ public toilet in a shopping mall nearby my resident. To my surprise, there was a lady janitor busy cleaning the floor while a few users were going in and out.to do their things.

The lady did the cleaning as if nobody was around, on the other jand, the users were feeling so uneasy with her presence. One senior guy even asked the lady to get out and wait until everybody is done, close the door and do the cleaning much later.

“I am taking direction from the management, I just take orders” replied the lady and proceed with her job.

8E3D4990-4DD6-407C-A62C-A84D81BFD614.jpeg

The question to be thrown, can a male enter a ladies toilet instead?

I have many more strips to share. I wish I can share more in the next post... keep liking them...😬

97493BDE-9771-49E5-83FA-63511A6FEEB5.jpeg

My collections of cartoon books, so far.

Sort:  

Nice Mie. I can see that you have a lot of source here. Please post more.

Tq Manai... so touched... when an old friend confessed to like your works...

Whoa ho ho...Thanks @rehanrhapsody ...!feel like on cloud nne

kalau mmg ada job cleaner utk ladies room..cukup menarik haha..apa2pun post menarik ni abgmie..penuh nostalgia!!

Dahsyat betul imaginasi Rambai...
Your imagination makes people smile from ear to ear.. Thank you.😬

Great! @abgmie ... keep on posting... learning a lot from you...

Female cleaners in a male toilet... only happen in Malaysia... hahaha...

Thanks @sireh for the complimenta. Still learning and never stop asking from the experts.
Thanks for your guidance all this while...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66397.79
ETH 3460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61