Portrait of a True Love

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190301_100129.jpg

It's not to late to post about love, right? Because love is celebrated everyday and in every minute of our lives. It comes in different form and different ways. As a song says "Love moves in mysterious ways, it's always so surprising. "

But my favorite definition of love is from I Corinthians:

Love is patient, love is kind.
It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.
It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8a


Last night, I drew this awesome and cool couple for a birthday gift surprise.

I love them so much that I want to be like them when I and my beau get married.

I can see the love by the way they hold each other especially when I saw them dance gracefully. That's when I captured their photo. They are so kind to all of the people they meet and talks a lot of things. They inspire many people around them.

MATERIALS

  • Vellum Board
  • 2B Drawing Pencil
  • 5B Drawing Pencil
  • Eraser

WORK IN PROGRESS

IMG_20190301_091549.jpg

I drew the outline of them in a Vellum board using 2B Pencil

I filled Lolo's face with shades of shadow and light using 2B Pencil as the primary shading. Then I darken the shadows more according to my reference using 5B. TIP: You don't have to draw the whole picture itself, but just to copy the tone or value of each part, see where's the light coming from and where's the shadow is placed. Make sure to follow the light.

IMG_20190228_213426.jpg

I proceeded on shading Lola's face with the same pencils.

After shading, I smudge the pencil's graphite on the paper where I applied the shadows. You can use cotton or kneaded eraser to smudge the graphite. But in my case I always use my fingertips because I can easily control the pressure on it. I just have to make sure that my hands are clean and dry.

IMG_20190228_214455.jpg

Details were added using a sharpened 5B Drawing Pencil. This is to make sure that lines and some shapes are defined well.

IMG_20190228_215654.jpg

For the lighter part of the picture to where the light shines on according to the reference, I used eraser to clear the spaces it covers. Erasers are also good for detailing shiny hairs and glowing cheeks. Some artists uses pencil eraser or kneaded eraser to make a small point on the paper.

IMG_20190228_223610.jpg

After I finished the drawing, I put it into a frame to present it nicely.

IMG_20190228_224611.jpg

And then wrapped it for a surprise. 🍀

IMG_20190228_230226.jpg


I hope you all like it

Thanks for dropping by.

Sort:  

Wow, I loved it @aalagenesis. Their emotions came to out to be really prominent here and I can easily feel the joy and the natural bond they have.

I wish you have a married life more beautiful you have imagined :)

Thanks for sharing. It was heart warming to see them.

Thank you so much @himalayannomad. I really really pray for that good life

Hope you too have that life <3

I already have it 😉

So let's focus in on the portrait of the lovers: I love the drawing-esque realism of the elderly couple there. The soft embrace both give that is yet very much powerful despite the age they are in. Also the sincere expressions painted on their lips, eyes and stature; just really done well I must say. The hair somehow impossible blurring into each other yet standing out from each strand; like so blur of the sensational memory of one's looks and not caring for old/grey the hair of the significant other had grown and greyed out. Also the detailing on the lad's glasses is just on point, noticeable, drawn nicely and feels like a glasses; really hand, just like hands, to draw transparent items without giving a hard edge to showcase they exist. The clothing I must say, despite being casual is very much expected for a couple their age and rather looking nice, snug and fit on them I must say.

So let's focus in on that bible quote I Corinthians (four to eight "a"). Much like a poem, the first line hits hard and showcases what sincere love can be (and giving the ideals of love here). The second line very much tongue-n-cheek on dissing on the vices; of which the same is true to be said on the third line. Yet the substantial difference is that the first items in every line from here are shown as antonyms to patience while the second items to that for kind(ness). The Fourth line is very lovely and very much a core underlying foundation of love (and a bit ironic when it comes to the English version since truth is wrapped up with knowledge like a bundled-n-swaddled baby; but that's picking on the Adam-n-Eve scene with a Corinthians passage). The fifth and sixth (last) lines are just what any person ought to here when being troubled in a relationship (assuming both partners are not being abusive to each other or manipulative) and needs some reassurance, guidance and recognition of what they face so they came overcome their troubled state. Beautiful picked out passage.

I like how you only really used two pencils when it seems like the entire armory was expanded in order to create this work of art. Also the picture slide-show esque quality of the "Work in Progress" really is nice to see; showcases a very dialectical process of coming into being and how many revisions go into making the final piece from a blank slate. Showing that art works aren't created in a void and are as much of a protracted process like writing a story, moving towards a new destination, cooking something, learning and all the such. Just lovely. Also love the tips there, would've been useful to anybody who had to intro art class - maybe even to young artist self you would've appreciated as well.

In the end of the post: I love how you framed it up, cleaned it up and readied it for the perfect moment of gifting. Nice one I must say, especially for a @curie upvote I dare say.

So happy drawing and happy steeming!

I had to wait 5 minutes before commenting, had to gather my thoughts first. If I'd have to use one word to describe your drawing, I'd say "real"! It's a well detailed artwork, very well done! I truly admire you for giving back so nice what you see in real life, that's a true gift not many have.
The other thing I love about your post is the detailed step by step explanation along with the materials used. I'm repeating myself but this is very important if you want to help others to learn.
Congratulations for this masterpiece and keep up the good work! I'm following you now because I have a lot to learn from you :)

Wow thank you so much.
It's the only thing I think I could give to them. I'm more into efforts rather than cost, but this couple has given me more than I deserve :)

Thank you so much again. I also followed you !
I hope you'll enjoy more of my posts as well as I do to all the Steemians here

Have a nice day

Hi @aalagenesis
your work is really beautiful. I really like it when you show all the process of your work through the photos, it's a bit like being in your head! Your portrait is vibrant, you feel the complicity and love of the two spouses. I'm sure they will like it immensely.Congratulations and Thanks for sharing with us!

Thank you so much for your appreciation. It's a bit challenging for me to do a portrait like this especially a reference showing half or whole body. I'm glad you like it .

True love indeed. I watch this drawing and really feel like am there with them and watching every action that went on. I really love your shading styles and toning. You did a great work in there. Keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh!
Valentines is still in the air!
Anyways, you're a great artist I would say.
Keep it up!
Tatak pinoy talaga!

I wish we were so happy and in love with my husband when we get older. So far so good and I hope it will stay like this :)

You captured their happiness perfectly. I can see that they are totally fond of each other and that they support each other with anything.

I love her smile and the way he is holding her. It's just such a beautiful moment.

Thank you for sharing it with us. I'm sure they were totally happy and emotional when you showed it to them.

Congratulations on your curie vote!

I'm praying and expecting you and your husband to have a good life like they did. You seem so kind and that's one thing that every partners should have <3

Thank you so much for appreciating this one <3

What a beautiful surprised birthday present. And what a wonderful theme also, I bet the couple is over the moon when they received it.
                       
Congrats for the curie vote ^_^.

Thank you so much @scrawly !
They loved it and i'm so overwhelmed

very nice portrait,I loved it @aalagenesis.

Thank you so much

don't forget to add an additional note with link
https://steemit.com/art/@aalagenesis/portrait-of-a-true-love

I am sure that receiving this kind of present is great but the idea of finding more about it online is even bigger :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72