You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AM Scribbles Day 14 – Notebook Doodle to Brighten A Dark Morning

in #art-series7 years ago

Thank you. I find this to be a really good warm-up for me. Stimulating and relaxing at the same time.

What do you like to do to warm up before you start writing a story or a longer work? What is a writing equivalent to doodling? Or are you so seasoned you've outgrown the need to warm up before you start?☺

Sort:  

Seasoned? Me? Bless you, but I think you've overestimated my powers.

Physically moving the hands seems to make a difference, for sure. For some reason Writer's Block goes away if I'm scribbling in a notebook, even if I have to start with "Here I am staring at this blank piece of paper again and I wonder what I should have for lunch ... " Eventually the ideas start to come faster than the hand can go, and then I can switch back to the computer (or typewriter.)

Do you plan these works out or just make them up as you go along?

And who are HB and PB?

I see, once the hands start acting like it's time to write the brain steps in to do its part.

Sometimes I fill up a few (or more) pages like this one, making it all up as I go, mixing letters with abstract elements with faces or forms. And from those pages and pages of scribbles I usually take elements I like and put them into a more structured composition.

HB and PB are the initials for the pet names @jschindler and I have for each other.

And here I thought it was a tribute to HB pencils and... um, Pb as the chemical symbol for lead?

The truth is far sweeter!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56