An Analysis of Arsenals Performance Against De Gea.

in #arsenal6 years ago

lort.png

When I first started writing this post I started going on a rant about why Arsenal was so unlucky yesterday, and indeed they were, but there's still some tactical concerns that were once again exploited.

Substitutions

Mustafi went out, Iwobi got in. Xhaka out, Welbeck in. Kolasniac out, Giroud in. All subs coming in is attacking players. Players that simply can't build up the attack. Going with Iwobi instead of Mustafi was spot on. We had to make an attacking substitution when behind 0-2. Just in the beginning of second half, we scored. Great. Then, of course, Lingard scored again, after another mistake by Koscielny. Next substitution was Xhaka out and Welbeck in. Already here, we destroyed our chances. We don't need a fast forward against a deep lined defense. We need a creative midfielder who would able break down the United defense. Quick one-twos, not a player who simply can't use his best abilities. Wenger failed again. Then Kolasniac came off, and Giroud was put in, so now we have Giroud, Welbeck, Lacazette, Iwobi and Sanchez who all played like center forwards, which leads me to next point.


ATTACK!!!

It's a misconception that the more attackers you play with the more goals you will score. Especially if they did like Arsenal yesterday. At some point, Arsenal had four attackers in the box. That meant that United had an easy job defending as it were all tight and narrow. The more tight, the better for a defense. Arsenal had wide wingers, which would have been much more effective, as it would have stretched out the United defense. The worst period of yesterday was from Pogba got his red card until the end. Arsenal didn't manage to create one big chance in this period. All because their attack was too predictable.


Why Does The Defensive Players Attack?

There's absolutely no need of Monreal, Koscielny, Bellerin attacking if they suck at it. They are more likely to ruin our attack than to contribute. If Bellerin, Monreal, Koscielny all stayed back when they scored to 1-3, they probably wouldn't. But because we go with the all out attack fifa mode on for the whole game, we become very fragile in the defense. You might as well sent Cech in the box. It's the same as before. Too many players can worsen the attack. You normally don't need more than 6 players to create chances, not freaking 9 players, where three of them hasn't scored a goal in years.


Sort:  

Our finishing really sucks. The last clinical striker we ever had was RVP

You're right. Lacazette is alright though. Only because of De Gea he didn't score more than one.

De Gea was insane this match. T_T

No doubt, and oh lord did it hurt my heart but also I was fascinated that such a performance is possible for a goalkeeper. It was quite beautiful if I look past all my anger and frustration.

I mean you're in 4th if you count goals scored. They are all right. The problem is not there imo. Lacazette, Giroud , Welbeck , Alexis are all worthy

I had the game downloaded , I want to watch it again soon.
DeGea was just unbelievable . Arsenal has a very good attack but it's hard to keep up with all the goals conceived .
The defense is shittt. I mean Swansea is last and they've conceived one less goal than Arsenal. It's only 19 because they keep the ball in the other half a lot. They must buy in the winter otherwise they won't finish top 6 imo. Top 4 looks like a dream right now

No, I don't agree. Arsenal will easily be in the top four if they continue play as they have done. They have been amazing. Best in a long time. We were just unlucky. How is your fantasy going?

I think I'm 25th... so pretty bad. I don't think I'm very good with the fantasy thingy, it's my first year using it so I'm sure I'm not doing some things right..

My first time as well, but you/we still have time to climb to the top! ;)

Well Acidyo is doing a better job than us.. Was he just lucky? :D

No, he knows what he is doing. Hazard as captain was a great choice :)

I've used my Free Hit for next week, let's see what it brings..
United vs City . I have 5 players from both.
Also , I hope Liverpool will crush Everton next weekend as I put Salah captain and Firmino ViceC

So I guess you have removed your City and United players?

I replaced De Gea for this game in the Fantasy league with Mignolet thinking it will be hard against Arsenal..
He scored twice more points than Mignolet lol

In my opinion, it was one of David de Gea's best performances, so Jose Mourinho praised the Spaniard. He is the best goalkeeper in the world, "said Mourinho

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88