Mentorship and Counseling

in #army7 years ago

One thing is for sure, I have not really thought of this subject as much as I should have been until the day I came out to the recruiting command. Just being a Soldier day in and day out, you only worry about your unit and the guys you serve with everyday. Of course, when you reach higher ranks mentorship does into play with younger Soldiers coming in. But these Soldiers have already taken the steps to be there with you. They need help with learning to be better Soldiers in their fields of work and general Soldiering.
Civilians that are thinking about becoming Soldiers, students that are struggling with school, and parents that need help in taking control of their lives and starting a career. These people are a whole different dynamic and the power to help change their lives is like nothing I ever experienced.
20141224_184119986_iOS.jpg
I have 3 high schools and 2 universities that I actively visit. In the high school, working with students is definitely my favorite thing to do. In the beginning I was "just a recruiter", and there was no trust. Students thought that I was only about making them join the Army. One, I cannot "make" anyone do anything, my job is to provide you with information about enlistment and if you have an interest I can guide you on career fields and processing, just like any corporate recruiter. But after a few months, they start to come to me and ask about my personal experiences. I go to home games, I visit classrooms, and chaperone school trips.
IMG_0177.jpg
This has all placed me in a position of special trust. When they send you to recruiting school that is exactly what you are told. I thought it just meant that we represent the US Army in cities that have no other military presence. I have found that what they meant was alot more deeper than that. Here I am going to students homes and talking to parents on how we can all work together to assure graduation or get out of some type rut.
I also counsel adults that are looking for help. An adult walking into a recruiting center or approaching me outside, have specific goals. They have already been through the rigors of school and starting a career, but sometimes they are looking for more. Whether its, job security, health insurance, money for college, technical training, or service to Country they need help in deciding if its the right choice. Many times I have had to tell someone that they are not qualified or that starting as a low ranking Soldier in not beneficial to them. Every case is different and every person brings a new challenge. This is why I have fallen in love with recruiting and the opportunities to go out and be with my community.

Sort:  

Congratulations @joselg1775! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @joselg1775! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45