Arizona Diary - Part 2: First Few Days

in #arizona7 years ago

It was winter of 2009. I was in Indianapolis that time. It was beginning of December. No signs of snow yet. I went on a vacation to India to spend Christmas with my parents. I returned back to Indianapolis on 4th Jan 2010. Massive snow storm welcomed me. I cursed that day. I hate snow. I hate winter. The same month, I heard from my manager that we lost the software application maintenance contract to a competitor and that I have to start searching for a new assignment. Many opportunities came by, most of them in the New York metropolitan area. But, nothing materialized. Right when I was about to pack my bags to go back to India for good, came an opportunity to work on a long term assignment in Glendale, AZ, a city in the Phoenix Metropolitan area. It was indeed a blessing in disguise. I hadn't heard much about Phoenix/Arizona till then. Never did I imagine that I would spend the next 2 years of my life there and be so attached to that place to an extent that I could call it my home town

Day 1: I landed in Phoenix international airport on 16th May. I checked into a hotel in the West Bell road. I rented a car at the Budget car rental (N67th and Bell). I don't remember the car make exactly. It was a compact car. My organization pays hotel, car rental and gas for 2 weeks as part of relocation cost. And I made a full use of it. The first weekend in Phoenix was a long weekend due Memorial day Monday. Those 3 days, it was just me and my rental car, exploring Phoenix Valley.
Apartment Hunting: Finding a decent apartment was not difficult. Of the 3 well known South Western metropolitan areas which are Los Angeles, CA; San Diego, CA; and Phoenix, AZ; it is Phoenix where the cost of living is cheaper comparatively. If at all I decide to go to United States for work, I would be first looking for an assignment in Phoenix, followed by San Diego and if no opportunities in either then the last choice would be Los Angeles.
I finalized on a apartment around the Arrowhead mall area closer to 75th West Bell Road. Arrowhead mall was life saver. I did not have car and my room mates too didn't, so the only best way to kill weekend boredom was to walk to Arrowhead mall, watch a movie at the AMC, eat at the food court, repeat.

That's it for today. I will continue to post about my Arizona days.
Take it easy
Peace out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41