Shaping our Children

in #arenting7 years ago (edited)

I am not wishing to start a debate. However, I thought that I could voice my opinion on something that has bothered me since viewing.

Before I ever had children, I knew I would want my future children to be the best that they could be. When I had my children, I taught them from the start to be caring, compassionate, strong, brave, and everything that would make them the best possible person that they could be and more.

Last night we gathered around the dining table for a night of cards and spending time as a family together. While we sat playing, my son asked if I had ever seen the video "I'm the Daddy, I'm Grown"? I stated "no, you know I don't peruse youtube like you guys do." He went to the video to share it with the family.

The video was sad, and sadly was a hit on youtube with 4.8 million views. The comments trailing the video were offensive, racial and stereotypical in nature. I am not promoting this video in any manner. However, the video can be found at

. I find it tragic that parents promote this sort of behavior online and in their homes.

I did not find the child funny, nor cute. He was displaying behavior which he learned from the people around him. This child banged on his chest while telling his mother, "I'm the Daddy... I'm Grown!" Now mind you, had any of my children ever had the audacity/courage to speak to me in this manner... they would have been punished. I don't mean physically. I mean they would have known from repercussions that this is totally unacceptable behavior.

My closing thoughts... how can a parent condone such behavior and exploit it for a popularity vote on youtube?

Are you a parent? Would you allow your child to behave in such a manner? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Sort:  

Hmmm. Social popularity has shaped our people like this. I don’t condone this kind of behaviour of parents like this. Prioritize pls!

I find it quite appalling that people would ever exploit their child for a laugh or some hits on youtube.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63955.44
ETH 2745.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65