Architectural Details Series #1: Marble Inlaid Floors in Florence, Italy

One of the most stunning buildings I’ve ever visited is the Duomo (cathedral) in Florence, Italy. Next to the cathedral stands the Romanesque-style Baptistry of San Giovanni. It was built in the latter half of the 11th century and is decorated with colored marble from various regions of Italy. I found the inlaid floor of the baptistry to be fascinating and I’m sharing today a number of photos I took that detail the beauty of the floor. I hope you enjoy them!

image

image

image

image

image

©️Todd Durell 2018. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Amazing the longevity of the marble floor! You wouldn't see any materials or construction from our era last over 1000 years lol. Good stuff and thank you for sharing. You definitely got my upvote!

I agree entirely. They definitely didn't subscribe to the idea of planned obsolescence back then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64381.21
ETH 3475.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50