Traditional Korean Building Museum in Seoul.

in #architecture6 years ago

There were lots of small museums in Insadong Seoul, as I posted yesterday.
After watching the gallery of prominent painter Park Daesung, I walked along the road to Changdeokgung Palace.

I had posted several times on Changdeokgung palace before. There were villages around Changdeokgung Palace. I had found out the small museum for traditional building construction,

I heard that Korean traditional building had been built without designing blue prints. Traditional buildings in Korea had been built by a Architecture’s design in mind.

Do you believe that such a large size of palace main building was maid by one man’s feeling and design in mind without any papers.

Of course there was no metal materials in building traditional. The main reason the wooden building could’ve lasted for 1000 years was because of there being no metal nails.

The museum I had dropped by was formed by the last traditional master.
He had begun to learn how to build the house since graduation from the elementary school.

P3170155.JPG

He had spent his whole life to learn and build the traditional buildings.
His name is Sin Eungsoo.

The almost of traditional buildings I had posted in my blog were rebuilt and fixed by him, Gyeongbockgung, Changdeokgung and Bulguksa temple an so on.

At the entrance of museum, his face photo was hung on the wall.

P3170077.JPG

P3170078.JPG

As entering into the museum, the small ground was decorated with some traditional stuffs.

_3170082.JPG

_3170083.JPG

One lady welcomed me. It was free to look around. I liked it, free lol.
She explained us on the museum so sincerely.

Then let's look around the inside of the museum.

There was a miniature of Gwanwhamun gate, the main entrance of Gyeongbokgugung.

_3170085.JPG

There were the models of conjunction structure between wooden parts, in the corner.

_3170087.JPG

P3170136.JPG

P3170143.JPG

_3170090.JPG

P3170133.JPG

This decoration part have been to be said the most unique style of Korean traditional architecture in Eastern Asia.

When you look at carefully the lotus flower blowing step by step.

_3170096.JPG

_3170091.JPG

_3170093.JPG

_3170094.JPG

It means that the faith have to grow step by step.

Besides of the miniature of the Gwangwhamun gate, there stood a bell.
The guiding lady explained it a choson traditional style Buddhist bell.

_3170089.JPG

It was first time for me to hear that there were differences in Bell's style according to the ages.

Anyway you can bit the bell, and hear the sound.
The Bell was small, but the sound was awesome.
The sound lasted for several minutes. The very last part of the sound was amazing.
It seemed that the sound was making a sound.

There were so many instruments in other rooms as below.
They have collected so many instruments not only in Korea but also in Japan and China.

_3170097.JPG

_3170098.JPG

_3170103.JPG

_3170116.JPG

_3170120.JPG

_3170106.JPG

If you visit this small museum, the guiding lady will greet you with heart.

Thank you for reading

Sort:  

Beautiful .. wonderful pictures
Good work done well
Thank you for sharing your experience‏...

That Buddhist bell is really something! Very nice, I must say!

wow, I just heard the name of Park Daesung, glad to see the face of great artists, what carvings that exist in this museums, some of the work of Park Daesung or all of them. many thanks for sharing my friend

Beautiful photos and an interesting story!

WOW !!! what a great museum it is ! I really really impressed to see the antique craftsmanship of the woodwork. A museum is not only a combination of antique things but also present the historical culture of the country. This museum proved that Korea has gone to the summit of development but didn't forget his previous history and antique culture. I appreciate your job and honor the Korean civilization. There is no doubt that the museum is well organized but I think your presentation makes the museum very pretty. Thanks again

header.jpg
image source

Thank you for your comment

good travel and nice history my friend @slowwalker

oh wow I am really impressed with the craftsmanship of the woodwork.It is a pity we don't use more of the same styles/technique today.

Plus I generally like your cultural posts about Korean sites. You continue like this you will have the first steem guide to Korean culture soon. Pretty cool.

Oh before I forget, thank you for your past upvotes. I used them to plant more trees in Peru. I post about it and gave you a shout out in my last video "upvote a tree".

All the best,

@intrepidsurfer

I enjoyed scrolling down and seeing each new part of your adventure...almost like I went on the walk with you!I just liked this korean unique style of traditional architecture. Keep up the great work! Beautiful photos!

unique and beautiful, natural and good painting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74