You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are wooden skyscrapers the future of our cities?

Yes I agree, timber towers could be the future. Great post and interesting design. I also understand that there is a big misconception about timber. Here is an article on a good architect Alec Tzannes in Australia using CLT. They say it is sourced from Austria which is not completely sustainable in my book, as it is transported halfway across the world ;)
http://www.smh.com.au/business/property/first-wooden-commercial-office-tower-to-rise-in-barangaroo-20160616-gpkmyk.html

Sort:  

I agree, transporting it from far away is not really sustainable. But that happens only because this is a new material. When it will be more popular there will be producers close to Australia or even in Australia - I am sure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69167.71
ETH 3758.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67