The Strange Appeal of Brutalist Architecture

in #architecture7 years ago (edited)


source

For many years I've been fascinated by the brutalist architectural movement which peaked in the 1970s. It left behind many hulking, angular, monolithic structures that in my opinion have aged quite well.


source

Part of the reason why is that they're so alien. They don't identifiably belong in any one particular time period. They wouldn't look out of place as far back as WW2, yet they also look vaguely futuristic no matter when they were built.


source

The other major reason I feel brutalism resonates with me is that it demands the person inhabiting the structure conform themselves to it, rather than the reverse. Brutalist buildings exist for their own sake, not ours, even if we happen to live there.


source

In a world where everybody can have every little thing customized to their particular tastes, it's amusing and refreshing for a brutalist building to punch them in the face with a big fat NO. You'll get concrete and like it.


source

It's the antithesis of the modern culture of frivolity which gave us the fidget spinner and dabbing, every brutalist building instead radiating solemnity, gravity, continuity with the past and future, etc.


source

When I see a government building or bank in this style, it inspires trust. It makes me feel like it's a brand/institution that will be around forever, though the abundance of Soviet brutalist architecture proved that perception wrong.


source

I like to imagine some day in the distant future, brutalist structures will be the only ones so solidly built that they're still standing when alien archaeologists arrive to study the remains of human civilization. What mysterious badasses they'll mistakenly think we were.

Sort:  

I also really like to see and take pictures in the historic building that is amazing for me. Thanks for share Alex.

Do you have this sort of architecture where you live? We have nothing like this, that I have seen, in Australia so have never really thought about it but I agree it would not look out of place in a sci-fi movie or a history movie. Do they look as "brutalist" in colour, I wonder? Or does the black and white give them that feel?

They're concrete, so they're grey in person. Making the photographs color would not change much. There's a few brutalist buildings around me and I'd bet if you google "brutalism australia" you'd find some near you as well.

I've always been a fan of budilings and their architecture , this is incredible. I've been some houses back home in pakistan built with amazing and unique architecture that we don't really see here

it's kinda cool... but not really i guess... it tends to age quite poorly in my uneducated eyes / peace

Hey Alex - I started leaving a comment but then it grew into a post of its own. Short version - I like this stuff too, even as I feel it might not be good for us.

Thanks for the inspiration - I linked to you prominently in my lede.

I like your post and this architecture but bro I and You both also know that everyone remember their past but they don't stay with their past. Bcoz the world is moving...........

Amazing Alex 🤓👌

I also really like to see and take pictures

@alexbeyman,
According to my viewpoint those are great architectural works, but I feel nervous while watching them :D Don't know why, sometimes Hollywood movies made our mind set to see those architectural works as an alien works!
Egypt pyramids, and more other great architects are gave us such damn feeling too! Anyway those are great architectural works!
Great article my dear friend! Thanks for sharing!

Cheers~

I always respect your ideas about this platform....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67