You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Karlskirche in Wien (mit Video) // St. Charles' Church in Vienna (Video inside)

in #architecture5 years ago

It is the early A.M. here. I just finished reading your blog on my iPad and have returned to the desktop to give you my impression.

This is the most perfect blog. Maybe my favorite of all your wonderful blogs.

The inextricable connection between the plague, death and the glory of God is expressed in the architecture and echoed in your description. The mood is solemn, reverential and joyous--all at the same time.

Your video. Wow. What can I say about your video. I am so impressed. You give me the ambition to master another skill--and I can't even take a decent photo.

You know of course that I had to look up information on St. Barromeo. I wondered why he would be the patron saint for those stricken by plague. I read of his piety, humility and dedication to the ill during the Milan plague of 1576-1577. The site I referred to was published by the Vatican, so the bio might be a little biased. But it fit so perfectly with your blog that I am content to accept it.

I'm going to bed now, and am going to look at your blog again. What a treat. Thanks, Anna, and congratulations on creating art as you describe art.

With Admiration, Respect and Affection,
Your friend in New York,
AG

Sort:  

My dear AG,
What can I say but simply thank you very much for your wonderful words with which you have acknowledged my post.

I am very happy about it, because this church is close to my heart. I walk past it almost every day and even after years its charisma still fascinates me. There is so much history in this place!

It must have been his personal engagement for people suffering from the plague, for whom Karl Borromäus was canonized in 1610. There is a Karl Borromäus square in Vienna. A commission of historians investigated the historical significance of personalities after whom Viennese streets or squares are named. According to the final report of this research group, Karl Borromäus was also responsible for the burning of witches as an inquisitor under his uncle Pope Pius IV. A dark chapter in history.

As for the video, it was my first attempt in this field. It's fun, but especially at the beginning it takes a lot of time, which I unfortunately don't have at the moment. My list of what I'm going to do in my retirement is getting longer and longer. I think, Video editing could also be very interesting for you, because you could live up thereby your great creative potential to the full.

I have caught an annoying cold. Hope you are well!

With great affection and gratitude for your friendship,
Anna

Dear Anna,
Thank you for that most interesting response. I have just spent the last 45 minutes reading about the frenzy of witch trials during the Counter Reformation. Fascinating how different sources cover this subject. A great lesson in historiography. Read everyone, and try to distill from all sources a semblance of the true record.

First, I had to check the names: Borromeo and Borromäus. Once I determined that these two were one and the same person, I had to compare records. He was indeed a zealot, in an age of zealotry. Perhaps pious, but piety rooted in extremism which allowed him to burn people at the stake. Oh my heavens !!!

Thank you for this enlightening information. I must add that I watched Fitzcarraldo. So many impressions from that. Once again, I looked up background information on the film. I think there's a blog in this. Thank you for the different references that expand my horizons.

I read about the snow you had in Vienna, on @double-u's blog. That's a lovely blog, like the neighborhood square :) I hope you are staying warm, with your 'annoying' cold. And I hope the symptoms pass quickly.

I thank you, also, for your friendship. I look forward to your blogs, and to our dialogues.

With great affection and respect,
Your friend (who has not yet caught a cold this season)
AG (Be well, please)

Dear AG,
Wow, you've done a lot of research again! The example of St. Borromeo shows how important it is not to trust just one source. I initially came across sources that portray the archbishop as a church reformer with a big heart for the poor and sick, but don't mention his other side. Of course not, they where church sources. It was all the more interesting to come across the artikle of these Historians' Commission that shows a different picture.

Great that you have become aware of the weekly post of @double-u! Sunday, 6 o'clock in the evening is a beloved date for me to stop by his virtual "Kneipe" (pub). It's very familiar there.

Thank you for your good wishes! I just have to give me some time to rest, then I'll be fine again. I wish you that you will be spared from any cold and flu!

With great affection and appreciation,
Anna, your friend from Vienna

Edit:
I just saw that you shared my post on Twitter. Thank you very much, I'm very pleased and honored!

🌞 🌟📽

Dear Anna,
I hope you are well. Just checking in to make sure that cold has gone away and left you in good health.
Thinking of you in New York,🌷 🌸
Your friend,
AG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66