Weird and Wonderful Architecture- UFO house (Roodepoort) - by @thegoldencookie

in #architecture6 years ago

I've always been interested in unique architecture and in all my life I have never seen any building as unique or interesting as the UFO house in Roodepoort... Keep in mind that I have never been out of South Africa and I am taking about buildings that I have seen with my own eyes.


Image credit

Built in the 1990's by Dr Harry Visser (Engineer), this landmark has fascinated anyone who drives past it. The house has a spectacular 360° view over the mountain range.

This baby won't come cheap as it was valued in 2007 as being worth R14 million. However in the past visitors were welcome to see the house for themselves... If they just so happened to have 6 month bank statements lying around.


Image credit

According to private property
When you first walk up to the entrance of the house, you are greeted with a large mirror door and a waterfall that welcomes you. These are not the only features that would take your breath away as inside there is a indoor atrium and tropical garden. With one of the largest skylight domes in private residences, you can star gaze in the comfort of your own home. Not to mention the lovely sunrises you can experience from the east facing bedroom.

The house is infact so strange that in 2002 it was selected as the most extreme home in Africa. I've tried searching the internet for recent information about the house, alas all I found was a recently posted you tube video that I will add below

Sort:  

Really amazing arcitecture, love the 360 view, can’t believe it was build that long ago, thanks for the post

I stayed in the Area for quite some time, and saw it being built. It totally collapsed and had to be rebuilt. Maybe it was done by Aliens?

It could very well be ;) they possibly landed their ship and started the low riding pants fad

Looks like american googie architecture in 50's and 60's. I like this style, my favourite UFO-buildings are SNP Bridge in Bratislava and Observatory on Śnieżka peak in Poland.

I find this style interesting, I do think that washing the windows will be a lot of work and a difficult task... You'd have to be hung via a harness and I just don't do heights.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44