Basilique de Cointe, Liège

18za20 1.jpg

Continuing my series about Liège. If you are into old buildings and you have a moment to spare, while you're at Guillemins be sure to visit the Interallied Memorial. It's a mile uphill (just follow the tower that stands to the South) and you will be rewarded with a nice view over the Guillemins quarter. The Memorial was built in commemoration of the first World War (and because of the city of Liège was the first to offer serious resistance to the Germans) but was never really completed.

18za20 2.jpg

It's a mile uphill (just follow the tower that stands to the South) and you will be rewarded with a nice view over the Guillemins quarter. The Memorial was built in commemoration of the first World War (and because of the city of Liège was the first to offer serious resistance to the Germans) but was never really completed. The main attraction is the Church of the Sacred Heart and Our Lady of Lourdes (but since the Liegeois are not really patient, they call it the Basilique de Cointe, although it never really received the title of Basilic.)

18za20 3.jpg

Neglected for years on end, the city of Liège asked the French Graffiti painter Bonom to paint a fresco on the facade as to 'mask the fact that the church is in dire straits' when there were festivities held for the 100 year WW I (I am not inventing this one!)

18za20 4.jpg

18za20 5.jpg

There are plans to renovate the whole site (the city is looking for funders.)

18za20.jpg

Photo's taken July and August 2017, Pentax K-5.

Sort:  

Really interesting. Would like to visit if i'm in the area

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=pentaxke
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=basilique-de-cointe-liege


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 9 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Quel magnifique bâtiment, j'espère qu'ils trouveront des fonds.
Très belles photos également :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 15 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62