Sort:  

Great post. So charming, I think I would love to visit there.
Some people opt for these remote places to get away from the emfs.

I am with you visit only, not live. That is unless I was hiding out.

@molometer welcome home.

Haha hiding out from who I wonder? It is a beautiful part of the country and it is very remote. Who are the 'emfs'? :-) @rebeccabe

EMF
An electromagnetic field (also EMF or EM field) is a physical field produced by electrically charged objects

O I get it now haha! Keep your tin foil hat on :-)

lol
EMFs are real, it is science. haha!

Terrific little travelogue. Sounds like an wonderful getaway. I couldn’t do it because I can’t get up and down stairs well any longer. But, it seems like just the kind of place I’ve always wanted to visit.

Let me tell you about those stairs. You would have to be a mountain goat to get up and down there regularly. I had to shimmy sideways as the steps were so high lol

I’d never be able to navigate them in that case.

That has to be the oldest Airbnb I have ever seen. Kudos to the owners for putting in the work to make it work.

Gorgeous shot of the steamer on the lake. You have a nice foundation to work with in processing.

It was a pretty little place and just how I imagined the Lake District. Those stone walls in the first photo are all over the region and it made me think about the amount of work generations of people have put into making this landscape. I agree kudos to the owner to get the place back in regular use.

That sure does have charm! I heard you say the internet was not too good up there. I have to say I would not enjoy life as much without the internet! I love those old stone walls outside your window.

The internet was a complete washout. It was all I could do to upvote and that was not often. I had a better connection back in the days of the 52k modem lol
It is a lovely place but it's really back in the stone age in so many ways. lol

Glad you are back and reconnected with the world! That one is probably not listed in the handicap accessible section, right? It does look charming! I can't wait to see all the photos, especially if that last one is a teaser!

Handicap accessible?...it wasn't really accessible for anyone. There was a giant skip of building rubble in the driveway. They really didn't think it out before renting it out lol

The last photo above got me all fired up and I hope I can pull it out to show what I saw. It was truly magical. All misty and atmospheric.

Ha! In many of our travels we used VRBO ( vacation rental by owner) even when the units were listed as handicap accessible, Jim would usually call and ask all the proper questions. Are there steps? No, no steps. And when we would arrive there wouldn't be any steps only about three 4 in tall unlevel places that we had to pass over to get to the door. Two different times Jim had to disassemble the bed and put the mattress down on the floor because the beds were so high that they required steps to get up into them. One place had such a narrow bathroom door that I couldn't get into it. But often hotels were just as bad they would have handicap rooms that were on the 2nd or the 4th floor and assured us that they had an elevator and Jim would say what happens if the elevator isn't working- oh then you would have to use the stairs. Most places seem to think that if they put up a grab bar in the shower they can call it handicap accessible, even if there is a 6-inch step to get up into the shower.

I think that photo is stunning just the way it is. I will be looking forward to see what you do with it.

.

It's astonishing what you find on your travels.

Jim would say what happens if the elevator isn't working - oh then you would have to use the stairs.

They really don't get it do they?

I guess until it happens to you or someone close to you, it's not something you even think about

When the kids were little; getting anywhere with a buggy was a nightmare. Many people were/are anti children too.

I know what you mean. Until they are in need themselves They don't think about it.

Ha! In many of our travels we used VRBO ( vacation rental by owner) even when the units were listed as handicap accessible, Jim would usually call and ask all the proper questions. Are there steps? No, no steps. And when we would arrive there wouldn't be any steps only about three 4 in tall unlevel places that we had to pass over to get to the door. Two different times Jim had to disassemble the bed and put the mattress down on the floor because the beds were so high that they required steps to get up into them. One place had such a narrow bathroom door that I couldn't get into it. But often hotels were just as bad they would have handicap rooms that were on the 2nd or the 4th floor and assured us that they had an elevator and Jim would say what happens if the elevator isn't working- oh then you would have to use the stairs. Most places seem to think that if they put up a grab bar in the shower they can call it handicap accessible, even if there is a 6-inch step to get up into the shower.

I think that photo is stunning just the way it is. I will be looking forward to see what you do with it.

.

Looking forward in seeing some of those 500 photos. Love those nature scenes. :-)

It was a brilliant trip and the scenery was spectacular. Just hope the photos do it justice. :-)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=molometer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=16th-century-air-b-and-b


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

in the first photo on the building across the street is a green door...to no where? made me laugh. It also has gotten me to thinking I need to go find my photos of this area that my 17-yr-old self took in 1976!!!

Yep correct. Most of these houses had those doors to nowhere.
Pretty dangerous when you are half asleep looking for the loo! haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88