You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Enjoy Communism! - Buzludzha, Bulgaria

Hey Samantha, thank you for the post. I am Bulgarian and I have seen amazing photos of the place before it was left and destroyed by time. There were beautiful artworks inside. Mostly colorful mosaics. I also think the shape of the building was very futuristic, almost as a spaceship.
Have a look:

1_8683ef688e3fe9ef2d62b77017558a20.jpg

cf3cc5955c21f68686009a522f55d312.jpg
The communism was a horrible time, but there were also other monuments, which were destroyed and I am against it. No matter what the history was, the buildings had something special. An example was the mausoleum of Georgi Dimitrov in the center of Sofia. It was so hard to be destroyed. Seven soldiers died during the process of getting rid of it. Now there is just empty space there. It was not a smart idea. Actually something normal for the Bulgarian culture, not being able to take care of history.

mavzolei1_2.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you so much for these photos and information! I have seen photos of the current conditions inside Buzludzha which are incredible / surreal / sad. I would have loved to see it in its original "glory"..especially those mosaics! I was commenting below that I have a wild dream to restore this place.

I had not heard the story of the mausoleum in Sofia...how tragic.

I have visited BG three times and have always been amazed by how they "take care of history" there. I suppose that comes from my limited perspective and knowledge.

Dear Samantha, unfortunately, the history of Bulgaria has been very hard and sad, the folk has been through a lot. After the communism came the mafia, Bulgaria has its really beautiful sides, but so many things don't work properly in the system.

I have been fortunate to have extended stays each time I have come to Bulgaria. I have spent 6 months out of the last 3 years there and I learn more ever time. I am always struck by how people know and understand the history of BG. I can't say that is the case in the U.S. The system here is also quite a mess but for different reasons.

I have noticed the affects of the hard sad history...it's palpable...I see it in the faces of people I pass on the street in Sofia. I also see a passion for life and a genuineness that seems to be missing in my little world in California. I feel an unexplained connection to BG and I am thankful for every minute that I have spent there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56