Archisteem 34: Friendly Architecture Curation - Tree House in Tokyo

in #archistem6 years ago (edited)

Today's curated project: Tree-ness House

Let me get back to my favourite residential project curation before I change it to another type of project for the next month. I always love to visit different house and to understand how people decorate their house. It led me to learn about others lifestyle and way of thinking. With the accumulation of that, I could anticipate different design solutions and able to deliver a more matured and ideal design for my client as well as for my own use.

image.png

This residential individual house project is led by Akihisa Hirata a Japanese architect firm and took place in Toshima, Japan. The project covered an approximate 331.38m² of 4 1/2 stories individual house unit and was completed in 2017.


image.png

On the first sight, this is a very unique housing project which I only can find a few alike in Japan. Their modern architectural style for housing likes to play with boxes of space protruding out from the main building block, creating different pocket spaces that connect with the surrounding context.

image.png

For this project, the concept of the house is based on one tree that organically integrated with a combination of characteristics like the truck, branch and leaf which gave birth to the odd form of the house. However, we can observe a clear hierarchy of space through the front elevation of the house which resembles a tree very much.

image.png

Each of the concrete boxes that are stacked on the main structure has openings and fitted with plants. It is to create a sense of place whereby even a small space like that can bring the feel of nature to the resident. By turning the boxes into terraces and gardens, from the exterior we see this feature as the ‘leaf’ of the whole ecosystem.

image.png

On the other hand, inside the ‘branch’ and ‘trunk’, there lie the more private spaces like bedrooms, living room and dining room. Each of the interior spaces holds a unique function and equipped with different kind of openings toward the surrounding. There are more openings when the resident get to the upper floors too.

image.png

Ultimately, I would say this house is very experimental and adventurous. The spaces may seemed chaotic outside, but each room has its designated level, finishing and a solid reason behind for being design that way. This is the reason why I emphasize to understand the client before executing the design. However, as a designer, we also need the respect of our decision from the client, so that we could deliver what we are paid for. From our point of view, designers also hope to create spaces that could really benefit the life of the client. I always admire how Japanese respected the professionals which I hope this culture can be cultivated in other countries as well.

Do you find this house is like a maze? Adventurous? Drop me some comment :)


Source of images used and reference article. Click here


Hope you enjoy the curation. If you have any projects that you wished to be curated, do drop a comment to me. Any critics and suggestions about my curation are welcome!


image.png

This is an #archisteem post.

A new tag that is to curate our existing built environment and also future built environment development. Want to know more? Read here.

Steemit Bloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


My referral link for @smartmarket & @smartsteem

image.png

Find me at @kimzwarch
Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=kimzwarch
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=archisteem-34-friendly-architecture-curation-tree-house-in-tokyo


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Second photo looks like the house is on fire and the leaves are like the smoke from the fire... haha

I truly love this kind of concept of housing... really down to earth and suitable for young professional urban dwellers

Haha, I also think of that at first sight but after that realizing that was because of the motion of the plants plus the lighting (long exposure) it creates such feeling. Speaking of photography pula :P

Ya, very fun to be in such a dwelling!

Wow i love this idea! It's like bringing the forest to the city. I want my house to be like this. :-)

haha, when you wanna build your own forest house? Find me :)

The tree concept is unique and the design is not only adventurous but very bold. An artwork if I may say and looks very fun to live in one of the house units.

True, fun and bold. So far, I only find this kind of approach in Japan.

It looks very different from the usual modern houses. I also thought the house was on fire, lol. But the spaces are well used and to incorporate plants into the design is really cool, especially in a city. I am sure this house stands out a lot in the neighborhood! Thanks for introducing it to us, @kimzwarch! :)

It is one hell of a modern house @happycrazyon :) maybe you and @danielwong can live in one, designed by me :P

This is a very unique and interesting concept. I love the way it brings the feeling of rural atmosphere into the urban environment contrasting the surrounding concrete block structures.

Yes, I would very much love to have this style as the norm in the city.