Sofia - The Veloevolution Movement - The Beginning

in #archisteem6 years ago


Some of the best things that happen come unexpected.

This event happened nine years ago during my university studies to become a photo journalist. At least this is how I looked upon those. And I had the chance to practice. Never mind that the professor wouldn't later appreciate it. Others, who mattered, would. I admit I was pretty inexperienced back then and I certainly made mistakes. But I also made some of the right choices and a lot of experience would come from that. One or two years after. Who would think?

My first mistake was hesitating. I wondered if I should go and dedicate time to it although I was invited and I had ties in those circles and I was supporting the same cause. But taking action? I was so shy that I almost avoided it. And that while training for a journalist. Well it was a job I was not naturally suitable for. I had to learn not to be shy. I did need time. More than you would guess.

The event - the Velo March (in Bulgarian we still use the word velocipede for bicycles in general) - was organized by an organization called Veloevolution and they work on improving the conditions for bicycle riding in Sofia to this day. The one march I am writing about was their grand entering. It had to be massive to attract attention and it was actually the most successful one - the first yet the best attended as time would show. It gathered a few thousand people in a city of a couple of millions. We were actually less than 0.2% of the total population. Well, this is still a lot of people when in one place.

I was on a bike. The first one of mine to be stolen later in Sofia. Anyway. I had a problem of riding it freely with my first DSLR camera hanging on my neck with a zoom lens attached to it. A cheap one to be sure, the cheapest Canon EF 75-300 you can think of. Mounted on Canon EOS 350D. Still working to this day, used by a friend of mine. Well, I am telling you about this for two reasons. To make a point that it was an awkward ride and that image quality was relatively poor. But did that matter? Not at all.

I was in the crowd, eventually, and snapping shots left and right.








And then, at one point, I saw a pattern. An idea of an image that would tell a story better than all the rest of them together. I saw the way the railing split the frame in two - the cyclists on my side and the oncoming auto vehicles in the other lane. It would make a nice, artsy shot, right?

I have told that story in various places. As a standalone. But I will repeat it in short.

I hesitated again, thinking that there was no point doing this because it was full of photographers around me and everybody else would be seeing it and doing the same. Then I thought I was only responsible for my own actions and I have to take the shot as I saw it. And I took it.


And it won a competition next year. And another one the year after that. Bringing me a total of a couple thousand euro in prizes, including a new camera body - a Canon EOS 60D. And a trip to Prague.



Where I was invited to the OSCE forum on sustainability and where I again got shy and I could not find the words to tell the moral of that unexpected story to important people. Comforting myself that I was at least the silent ambassador of the Veloevolution movement, talking through my photograph.

Will I do better next time something unexpected happens? That remains to be seen.

Take care, but also try not to miss opportunities!

Yours,

Manol


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://photoanthill.com/sofia-the-veloevolution-movement-the-beginning/

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Dear @manoldonchev,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

We don't have to be born to do something as long as we are passionate enough to achieve our goals. You worked hard to overcome your nature of being shy and look where you got. Congratulations Manol! These are some amazing achievements! Winning prizes, trip to Prague and talking on OSCE? You have my respect! You are a great example for people who are afraid to follow their dreams.

Thank you for sharing and I'm looking forward to seeing more of your amazing photos!

Thank you, too!

Well, it was rather Not Talking at OSCE except by silent ninja presence and a photograph of mine ;) But I am still learning. And part of it is organizing workshops and sharing with others as amateur as my level still is in that aspect.

Много добри кадри , хубава статия!!

Благодаря! Успехи и до следваща среща!

All of your photos are wonderful but that last one, wow, is definitely a prize winner! And I'm so happy to see that you received a prize! Nicely done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90