Archisteem 30: A Thought of Being a Young Graduate Architect

in #archisteem6 years ago

When it comes to hustle and grind, we tend to spend an enormous amount of time in doing something we love and indulge with. I love to isolate myself and get creative to create some artwork (architecture design) from my cubicle. Ever since I started work, I was not able to get such moment while the office is an open plan layout. Besides the noise from other staffs, I need to answer to other colleagues inquiries about different matters. This had led me to crave for that solitary moment.

image.png
Source

I enjoy the process of trying different methods to come out with designs that suit the context and client’s need. Unfortunately, usually, the given time was very restricted and resource available is also limited. Therefore, I could not get to enjoy the brainstorm but to produce purely out from previous experience or through reference. I have no choice to choose productivity over creativity. Nonetheless, I do think that there are ways to train myself to be able to come out with ideas in such a short moment which I think would need some time to hone the skill.
I wonder whether the young graduate architects face a similar problem like mine?

  1. With time constraint and hands full of projects, how much resources (time and energy) you spend on creative and brainstorm?
  2. As the leading design architect, you have not design that particular building type before like a commercial mall. What will you do to get started?
  3. How do you juggle between design and project management, when you are tasked with both design proposal and project submission (creative and technical) at the same time?

These are some critical questions that I face and I am still finding the best answer for all of them. Up until now, I found myself facing the deep learning curve with pressure at the back (from the client) mainly while needing to perform according to the agreed timeline. It is indeed challenging and it drives me to improve myself all the time to improve my efficiency and productivity.

That is also part of the reason I started #archisteem and the curation series. Through making myself go through different design daily and write about it, I am training myself to learn from different architects and understand about the design process, concepts, materials use, construction method, and much more knowledge. While doing that, I could share this with the community and get some beneficial feedback (and get some small earning too!).

One of my goal for @archisteem is to build a community with young professionals (designers, engineers, architects) whereby we can interact and share our knowledge with each other and learn. Collectively, we can learn faster and more efficient as we could cover a larger spectrum. Rather than digging our own, it is more efficient to have a supportive and passionate community to back us up.

Today and tomorrow will be packed with course and submission, so I just manage to write some ‘nagging’ and distress myself. Hope to gather more passionate Steemians on the #archisteem! Join me if you find this community interesting for you and share your thoughts and wisdom.

image.png
Source

Yes, don't quit, suffer now and become the champion (work life balance, financial freedom) for the rest of my life!


image.png

This is an #archisteem post.

A new tag that is to curate our existing built environment and also future built environment development. Want to know more? Read here.

Steemit Bloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


My referral link for @smartmarket & @smartsteem

image.png

Find me at @kimzwarch
Sort:  

Totally understand the feeling of need to be alone, I guess that's why most designer shine after midnight! Self-included... hahaha

Oh, you are a designer as well. I feel you.
Hard to focus and enjoy the creative moment is somehow discouraging. I had share to colleagues about this but sometime when urgent matters, I still need to respond 😅 haha, gotta make use what I got.

Used to be, all those late nights of peace and quiet, it's already become a habit now.
Last time need to handle clients responds to changes as well, can't hide from them... haha

Oh, lucky you. haha
Not a good habit though to stay up late at night. Really ruin my next day.

I work at home, so... lucky me!!

Someday you can too!
Doing the work you love without any disturbances!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Should start a Discord and share ideas. Build a fast grow community within it.

Actually got, but then don’t have much time to spend on discord too 😅 will be promoting that soon too. If you are interested, feel free to join too.