Confessions of a Girl Gamer [Emotional Game Moments Contest by @Enjar]

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago (edited)

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/vincy-confessions-of-a-girl-gamer-emotional-game-moments-contest-by-enjarfgph85vm-1535982005898.png

When I saw this contest I thought hmm a very interesting concept. Emotions and gaming eh? Do you mean the super aggro type that guys feel? Do guys feel any other kinds of emotion when gaming? I’m sure they do but I wondered whether I should join in. Gaming was after all a guy dominated world. Who was I a girl minority to have anything to say right... or do I??

Heck yeh!

I am a girl gamer and I am proud of it. No matter what I am incapable of.. yes you heard me, my skills are somewhat lacking.
You will definitely hear me scream when I die within two seconds of CS or see me spazz out when I fail that level of cooking mama again.

But today I want to talk about some deeper darker emotions.. things I have not thought of for a while but recently did pop up a little to remind me!


When I was a happy little naive girl in my early university days (more than a decade ago) and I had little to no girls as close friends. A lot of my friends were guys.. I started with an engineering degree after all and there weren’t many girls in my church.
I also wanted to be close to guys that I liked and gaming was one way in - to spend that precious time that I wouldn’t otherwise get with them.
So I got sucked into the world of DOTA...


source

I was taught how to play, I joined their team.. I thought it was pretty cool until people started yelling at me with gibberish that I couldn’t understand.. what the heck was bbbbbb anyway.. so I continued along and bam I died..
I felt the passive frustration of the boys I played with.. I felt hurt.. I didn’t come here to be yelled at and treated like a noob that didn’t deserve to be there..
Little did I know how ruthless that DOTA world was.. I played a few more games till I swore I would never go back..
Then a few years later there was LOL.. but that’s another story...

So this guy I liked.. I couldn’t get his good books in DOTA.
So I went and joined him in his other adventures..

Enter the Hobo Wars!


source

Now this was a game that was more friendly. It was based on some luck and some skill but was super cool! The website was more primitive at the time but the game was fun and I didn’t mind because I would log in every day and my crush would be there playing, and best thing yet I could check his Every move!!! It shows you when the gamer was last active and what their history was. I could even send private messages to him! Better enter a guys world this way than nag him on msn with hi’s and how are you’s right?

Wrong.

I didn’t get the guy.

I wrote him a long ass confession in an email and told him ingame to check his email and pretty much scared him away.
Sad thing was it didn’t just break my heart but I also lost a close friend and the coolest game at the time was left there hanging...

Ah well..

A few years later.

On Facebook there was a game called Mouse Hunt.

image
source

You catch mice every 15 minutes and you can also chat to people via FB. It was addictive and fun. Full of cute mice to catch, based on luck and some skill. Can’t really fail at it but sometimes needed to grind it out.

It was there I also played with a boy who is now my husband.

These days we livestream together on dlive playing overcooked and life is strange.
Although at times I do feel the frustration coming at me an incompetent player, at least he’s not gonna run away and I can get him to make it up to me after 😉

The story has a happy ending after all. 😊

(And yes I chased most of the boys via games it seems 😝)

Thanks for reading till here!
And thanks for the awesome contest @enjar!


If you liked this post please support me by upvoting! I would love to hear from you! Comment in the box below. Please also share this post by resteeming, and if you like to see more of what I create Follow me :)


I am a full time mum to one active 2 year old boy, casual photographer, wife, and I create content for a variety of steemit platforms. I am part of Steemit Mamas, Onelovedtube and TeamAustralia 🌅
Please visit my feed and profile for more details :)

20180516_002249_0001.png

onelove.png

teamaustralia_thin.png

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/vincy-introducing-sparkles-the-unicatbun-steempet7wi4pcup-1535202986047.png#steempets

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I liked your article friend, I confess that as a child juge warcraft with my friends ...

Hehe cool!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

xD you got me in the end

Yeh and someone even used that as a pun on our wedding guestbook - that you got a great catch playing Mouse Hunt 😂
I don’t even know who it was - no name haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Congratulations @vincy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

loved your confessions, never was a gamer myself, but for sure also tried to get into the boy's worlds by other things like playing music mostly, trying to catch up with the guitar solos that I wasn't too good at either ;D

Ooh that’s pretty cool! I was too shy to do the guitar and singing thing with boys haha.. games were easier for me as an introvert haha..

Posted using Partiko iOS

You will definitely hear me scream when I die within two seconds.

😂 I love playing with people like that, always good for an ego boost.😝

Love your article btw, and in the end your plan of attack did work so, kudos :)

😂😂thanks for reading! you gave me a laugh too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad I did. And cheers for the upvote too!

No worries you did a nice detailed post that got a lot of attention! Congrats

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46