Dying A Lot: My Experiences with Roguelikes

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago (edited)

Dark Souls doesn't scare me. I consider it to be marginally difficult (I'm just awful at it). Few experiences shake me.

Why?

I've been playing roguelikes for over a decade. Closer to two decades now. Some of my first games were roguelikes.

To paraphrase a line from everyone's second-favorite Batman villain:

"You merely adopted the difficulty. I was born in it, molded by it. I didn't survive a level until I was nearly a man, by then it was nothing to me but surprising!"

In one of my earliest gaming memories (barring Yoda Stories, which I remember fondly, and The Neverhood, which gave me a phobia of certain sorts of claymation) I distinctly recall carefully practicing in the "newbie dungeons" of Tales of Middle Earth, then immediately getting stomped by a seven-headed hydra (the number of heads may be inflated for the purpose of my ego) when I made the mistake of leaving town by the south exit instead of any of the other, marginally safer, exits.

Even Demon Souls, which includes a scripted loss as part of its introduction scenes, is more forgiving, especially when you consider that in most roguelikes a dead character is gone forever (unless you savescum, but I never resorted to that).

Particularly onerous was ADOM, a game I remember fondly as one of the most persistent and popular roguelikes, and yet never beat or even came close to beating. I often cheat (in the "like a politician filing taxes" sense) when I play single-player games, and I attribute this to paranoia about sudden difficulty spikes. Sometimes you beat a dungeon, sometimes a dungeon beats you.

image.png
Technically, back in my day ADOM didn't feature command hints. Also, this character has somehow not died yet, or even taken damage. Orc Chaos Knights are apparently the build I've always been looking for. Even the hardest game of my youth has softened for modern audiences. Soon I'll have to politely ask you all to get off my lawn.

Ach, my spleen!

"They wrote in the old days that it is sweet and fitting to die on a hard level. But in roguelikes there is nothing sweet nor fitting in your dying. You will die like a dog for no good reason."
– Ernest Hemingway (not really)

Roguelikes have no qualms with killing you in a single turn. This is probably something that's shaped me a lot as I became a roleplayer, where I'm a little notorious for putting my characters way in harm's way and being totally fine with going through multiple characters in the time it takes the other players to make a character.

Part of the mystique for me with roguelikes is the brutality and realism they offer. I've been playing a lot of Cataclysm recently, where a large number of my deaths have been self-inflicted after mishaps due to emergent systems. Sadly, I seem to have lost some of the saves I had in a botched update, but the most recent "embarrassing" death came when I threw an incendiary grenade and died of smoke inhalation (well, technically, passed out from smoke inhalation: it was the burning that got me in the end).

I kind of like this complexity, however. I remember playing Dwarf Fortress and trying to keep dwarves alive as they kept losing important body parts. Roguelikes offer a unique experience in terms of difficulty that other games don't offer. I remember one, Iter Vehemens ad Necem, which was particularly refined at offering the "how long can you stay alive now that you only have one hand" experience.

Many games are perfectly happy to have you lose, but refuse to give you a death spiral or penalties.

Roguelikes will kick you while you're down. Stunlock? Try being knocked unconscious, losing limbs, and then having such a level of pain that the shock kills you, rather than the trauma.

Not all roguelikes were as brutal, GearHead comes to mind, though its creator also made Dead Cold, one of the best hard sci-fi survival roguelikes. Both will happily kill you in one bad term, but at least GearHead doesn't have permadeath (and has scaling difficulty, so if you get too beat up it starts going easy on you).

Gimme Shelter

One of the things that I find interesting about roguelikes is that as much as I try my best to go to pains to avoid difficulties in other genres, I tend to be fine with getting kicked around in roguelikes. Some of this might come from the fact that I've had enough time with them that I've developed Stockholm Syndrome, but I think it might go deeper.

The challenge presented by roguelikes demands a high degree of personal skill, especially if you're playing in the old ASCII style (which I generally prefer, with the exception of a couple games like Tales of Maj'Eyal and Cataclysm, though I mostly use graphics with Cataclysm because I occasionally record it).

It's also very much oriented around the notion that surviving is an accomplishment. With other games, they're very goal-driven. I hate dying in Skyrim or Fallout, for instance, because I feel like it keeps me from accomplishing my goals of checking out what's around the corner.

In roguelikes, the survival is the achievement, and everything else is just to give you a clue of where to go. When I went back and played Fallout 4 in a "horror" setup (using the Pilgrim ENB setup, Atrium Carceri and Sabled Sun in the background, cranked up difficulty), I found that I was much more prone to accepting the difficulty.

So that's why I'll send an orc chaos knight down into the dungeon, heedless of their safety, and keep on going back for more.

When dying's normal, it's not frustrating.

I've seen things you players wouldn't believe. Loot chests plundered off the seventh level of Angband. I watched grid bugs glitter off the treasures of Moria. All those moments will be lost, like saves in Yendor. Time to die.


This post was written for @archdruid's Challenging Gaming Moments contest. Go check them out for more great content! The contest remains open for about another day and a half (if my math is right), if anyone's interested in writing their own entry.

Sort:  

One day I'm going to find the Amulet of Yendor - I know it, I can feel it in my bones...

But till then I have to try, like I have for nearly30 years. My first encounter was on the Atari XL and I can still remember how immersed I was. A $ made me see a pile of gold... My most beloved version was 'Rogue' on the Atari ST - I loved the graphics and learned a lot of important English words. Now there is Nethack where a tourist is waiting for me to get him out of a rather precarious situation ;)

I think that one of the greatest shames of the modern gaming generation is that there are a lot of gamers who will never experience a roguelike. The experience is so different from what people are used to these days; it's a game, but there's also imagination and comprehension going on. It's a radically different experience.

I learned to type thanks to roguelikes; I needed to be able to hit keys reliably, so I naturally settled into touch-typing (I'd have to refine this later, but I was at least doing it better than my peers).

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

I need to check out cataclysm...

It's a fantastic game if you're willing to invest the time and if emergent systems can amuse you. Light on scripted play (though there are quest giver NPCs now), but loads of systems and interactions to explore.

Plus, survival is hard, which is a good game mechanic in itself for keeping people playing. A lot of players I know get really into building vehicles and bases.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66735.55
ETH 3509.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71