My entry for the Archdruid Gaming: Gaming Nostalgia Contest

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago (edited)

I was in grade school in 1977 when the first Atari console was released. It was the Atari 2600 but it was not on the list of things my house hold could afford. Lucky for me Taito's Space Invaders was the first blockbuster arcade video game.

Space Invaders was released in 1978 and since it only took spare change to play, I could play the occasional game. I can not tell you what year I actually started to like playing Space Invaders but I can tell you that it was the first game to catch my attention.

Sometime in the early 80s, my mom was given a used Atari 2600 for me and my sister. It came with a few games but Space Invaders and Pac-Man are the two that stand out in my memory. We got many hours of fun out of that system and I am forever grateful to the family friend that was kind enough to give it to us.

I got married after High School and had my first child when I was twenty; I had my second child a couple of years later. My new responsibilities took me out of the gaming arena for a few years.

My Husband bought a Sega Genesis in the early 90’s and taught our oldest child how to play Sonic the Hedgehog. Console gaming turned out not to be my forte but I did enjoy watching my kids and husband play on that and other consoles over the years.

Gaming history.png

Sometime in the late 90’s I got my first computer and with that came the option to play some PC video games. The first one to grab my attention was Sim Tower. I was a stay at home mom at the time and I spent many hours building my empires while my kids were at school.

I naturally graduated to The Sims, The Sims 2 and The Sims 3; not to mention all of the Sim Cities over the coming years. My children and responsibilities always came first but when I had ‘me time’ they knew where to find me.

The Sims online community introduced me to a community of women who also played The Sims. It was so nice to have common ground with other women my age and we had fun sharing our gaming experiences on a forum.

It was these ladies who introduced me to Minecraft and I love them for it. I do still play and own The Sims 4 but Minecraft opened a whole new world to me. Minecraft lead me to YouTube and Twitch.

The communities on YouTube and Twitch have lead me to play games like 7 Days to Die, Killing Floor 1 & 2, GMod, Banished, Oxygen Not Included, Ark and a few more.

And there you have my nostalgic trip through memory lane. It has been a fantastic journey.

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee

My other social media's:
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap

Sort:  

Wow! I have never played games! I see so many people here doing it that I feel like I have to try as well :)

I get a lot of joy out of it. :D

Great post Deb! You will be happy to know that we still have an Atari setup..lol! I can play a good game of Pac-Man but i'm totally lost on all these new games! ;)

Thank you! Yeah, Pac-Man is a fun one. It always makes me smile. It's pretty cool that you still have an Atari. :D

You're welcome Deb! 😊

You know a lot of video games Deb. Good luck in the contest! Thanks for sharing. ❤️

Thanks so much!

Good luck in the contest Deb, you have quite a history on the gaming front. It's interesting how it went from PC's to console and back again to PC's. They are now two distinct groups. I'm seeing a lot of people are playing Fortnite right now. My grandson was telling me all about it. Apparently you can earn tokens on there?

Thank you @molometer. I've always had a love for gaming, even when I was not playing myself. I've never played Fortnite but I know it s a popular game.

A wonderful story with how gaming has been in your life. I was never much of a console person either after I got my first computer. I use to wait for my folks to fall asleep so I could sneak down stairs and keep playing games. Back then when there was only one computer in a house and it was the “family’s” aka mine as I was only one who used it outside of a siblining needing to do homework on it.

Thanks @enjar, I really am glad I discovered my love for gaming. I remember the days of only having one computer in the house. I'm sure glad those times have changed. :P

I see killing floor on there.... good choice :)

That is a good game. I've even dragged Hubby into it. I've not played it in awhile though.

Oh good luck, Deb!

When I was in college, I remember played games to my last quarter, lol...

Thanks! I guess gaming just stuck with me. :P

So you are saying you are the Original gamer!?!? The real O.G.

So you are saying
You are the Original
Gamer!?!? The real O.G.

                 - bosssarah


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I guess I was there to see it all begin. That may make me old. lol

I guess I was there
To see it all begin. That
May make me old. lol

                 - debralee


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Not really, we had Atari's when I was a kid, but when I was old enough to play we had Nintendo.

Ah yes the good old days!

I'm glad I was not the only one around here that was there for them. lol

It's great that you like to spend time playing games .
Everyone should have a favorite activity.

Thanks, I agree. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34