You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Dream Game

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago (edited)

Yes, I prefer to use the good old-fashioned controller whenever possible. This past year, I found a device that lets me use my gamecube controller to play my PC games on Steam. Being able to map out all the keystrokes to the controller is a dream come true for me... until you try to play something like ANY Elder Scrolls game. Ahh! I swear MMO's were never meant to be played on a controller, because the developers had too many always active button commands that could be pressed. Controlling camera and movement alone takes eight different directional control buttons, and quite a bit of finesse to master the proper timing in a battle situation. This is definitely where VR leaves all other control methods in the dust. If only they could make it so that it doesn't cause me pain for using for multiple hours. Maybe one day, I'll be able to use a normal computer monitor with a camera that responds to my head movements to be able change my view, to look in various directions.

Sort:  

There are already head-trackers that can do some of that, though obviously you're limited to a degree by the technology since not every game will support it and the fixed screen places its own limitations on the motions you can have before you're no longer looking at the screen past a certain point.

TrackIR is the most notable one and has been around for ages, though there are others out there that I can't speak to the performance of. I've never used any head-tracking setups myself but definitely would consider trying one out.

EDIT: I don't know if you care about Morrowind, but OpenMW has a usable controller interface as of last time I tested it. The others are definitely not anything I'd care to play with a controller (or at least not a traditional controller; Bethesda's VR titles work really well).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67